Jill Andrews Releases New Album ‘Modern Age’ Today

Jill Andrews Releases New Album Modern Age

Andrews Returning To The UK Next Week To Play The Long Road Festival And In September For A Run Of Headline Shows

“’80’s Baby’ has a soft-rock lilt to it, while the gently despondent regret of ‘Better Life’ hits home
all the more poignantly when expressed by Andrews’ gorgeously understated vocal.”

“Modern Age is an album worth repeated listens. As she has throughout her career, Andrews displays a talent
shared by the best of songwriters. She consistently shows the ability to take the personal and
make it universal, finding new light to shed on oft-covered topics.”
– No Depression

“A beautiful, wistful album that’s sure to resonate strongly with many listeners, bringing a mix of affectionate looking back
with bold, unapologetic lyrics that remind us we’re not all perfect and that’s OK.”
– Entertainment Focus

NASHVILLE, TN. – (18 August, 2023) – Nashville singer/songwriter Jill Andrews has today released her anticipated new album Modern Age. Available everywhere through Vulture Vulture/Tone Tree Music, Modern Age stands at the intersection of memory lane and tomorrow; a stunning reflection on childhood and changing times, and the complexities of simultaneously looking back and moving forward. Stream or purchase Modern Age HERE.

Watch the official video for ‘Connection

Watch the official video for ‘Wrong Place, Wrong Time

Watch the official video for ‘High Fives

Speaking on the release of Modern Age, Andrews shares, “When I was a kid, I never imagined the world would be like this. At 3 pm, when the bus dropped me off on the corner of Leanne Circle and Paty Drive, the feeling of freedom washed over me. My friends were a phone call or a doorbell ring away. My Keds were worn from exploring the streets, backlots, and woods of my neighborhood in East Tennessee. Looking back on it now, I feel like I am an observer from the future. In the period of time that I have been alive, so much about human behavior has changed, my own included. This was especially poignant the other day when my thirteen-year-old son picked up my iPhone and read my screen usage stats to me. He reported that I had picked up my phone two hundred and eleven times that day. When I was his age, we had a land-line phone with a curly cord. We had an IBM computer in the basement with a black screen and green type. I think you could play solitaire on it. My six-year-old daughter will never know any of this. She has grown up with the internet. A phone that has video chat and millions of apps. An endless source of entertainment. This album for me is about looking back. It’s about all the gains and losses. It’s a juxtaposition of childhood and adulthood. It’s the simplicities and complexities that surround both. And figuring out where I belong within it all.”

Modern Age is an ode to simpler times, one that goes beyond nostalgia to veneration of what were to so many, the golden years. With tracks that range from anthemic, pop dreams to intimate acoustic confessions, it’s a meditation on how far we’ve all come, growing up and looking back, but one that leaves the listener wondering about the price of “progress.” In moments, the epitome of 90s pop perfection with ethereal synths and rich vocals, and in others, pared down and heart-wrenchingly intimate, Modern Age is dripping in reverence for a simpler time, when the world was as big as your high school, when love was waiting by the phone, when we wondered about the future instead of lived in it. With addictive melodies that evoke Susannah Hoffs and Kate Bush, Modern Age is at once a time capsule of and a love letter to the places we all began.

Produced by Lucas Morton at 4115 Studios, Modern Age features thoughtful and brilliant performances by an all-star cast of musicians including Tyler Chester (Sara Bareilles, Jackson Brown, Madison Cunningham), Juan Solorzano (Becca Mancari, Mary Gauthier, Michaela Anne), Graham Bechler (Erin Rae, Allen Stone), Anthony Da Costa (Sunny War, Molly Tuttle, Yola), and special guests Ben Cramer (Old Sea Brigade) and Becca Mancari on backing vocals. The album has been met with critical praise including No DepressionAmerican SongwriterGlide MagazineUnder The RadarThe Bluegrass Situation, and Holler who called it “an ode to simpler times remembering an era where the rhythm of life played slower, when we rewound cassette tapes with our fingertips, and talked on the phone for hours.”

Modern Love Track Listing:

1) 80’s Baby
2) Connection
3) High Fives
4) Better Life
5) Kids
6) Wrong Place, Wrong Time
7) Dark Days
8) Patience (feat. Anthony Da Costa)
9) Sensitive
10) Boundless Love

UK/European Tour Dates:

27 August – The Long Road Festival – Interstate Stage @ 12:45pm
29 September – Derry, Northern Ireland, UK @ St. Augustine’s Church (w/ Rosborough)
30 September – Belfast, Northern Ireland, UK @ Black Box (w/ Paul Casey)
2 October – Manchester, UK @ Band on the Wall
3 October – Cardiff, UK @ Acapela
4 October – London, UK @ Green Note
5 October – Southampton, UK @ The 1865
6 October – Bangor, UK @ Blue Sky Café
7 October – Glasgow, Scotland, UK @ Classic Grand Social Lounge
8 October – Liverpool, UK @ Liverpool Philharmonic (w/ St. Catherine’s Child)

Credit: Fairlight Hubbard

From her years as a founding member of the celebrated Alt-Country band The Everybodyfields, to her critically acclaimed solo career, to her latest collaboration, Hush Kids, which she co-founded with Nashville songwriter and producer, Peter Groenwald, Andrews has delivered irresistibly melodic, genre-bending music for nearly two decades spanning three full-length albums, four EP’s, and countless singles. Her music has garnered over 200 million streams across DSPs with a following of nearly 700,000 monthly listeners. She’s collaborated with artists such as Seth Avett, Buddy Miller, and Langhorne Slim, as well as toured and shared the stage with The Avett Brothers, The Secret Sisters, Drew Holcomb, Watchhouse, Joan Osborne, and Willie Nelson among others. Anchored by frank songwriting but continuously and unapologetically evolving, Andrews’ tape deck hosts a range of influences from Joni Mitchell to Diana Ross to Wilco to contemporaries, Brandi Carlile and Phoebe Bridgers. The result is bold, infectious, introspective music that NPR Music called “transfixing” and Rolling Stone hailed as “gorgeous, gentle” while American Songwriter praised her “expertly crafted songs.” Her music has also served as the backdrop to some of America’s most beloved television series including Grey’s Anatomy, This Is Us, Nashville, and Wynnona Earp, to which she composed the theme.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram