India, Injury & In Stasis – Monuments Drummer Mike Malyan Tells All!

Rock ‘N’ Load caught up with MONUMENTS drummer Mike Malyan on his return from India with the band, The guys have recently dropped their latest offering IN STASIS Courtesy of Century Media Records and it was time to talk turkey, and by turkey I mean all things DRUMS & rock ‘n’ roll!

London based progressive metal band MONUMENTS are gearing up to release their new album In Stasis on April 15th via Century Media Records and would love to set up an interview or review with you. Let me know if you would like to set up a feature with the band. Transatlantic Progressive Metal titans MONUMENTS are back with their fourth full-length studio album, In Stasis, coming in April 2022. The group’s first LP with lead vocalist Andy Cizek, the band says that the themes explored on their new album are implied within its title: “the album became centred around the concept of being in stasis, stuck in the middle of a power struggle with oneself.“ One of the biggest differences on In Stasis has been Andy’s ability to demo songs so quickly and effectively. This allowed the rest of the band to not overthink the songs before hearing vocals. The new album also features the return of original drummer Mike Malyan, who worked alongside guitarist John Browne to demo all of the songs on In Stasis. The introduction of composer Mick Gordon as a featured artist is also a huge turning point for the band, with his sonic landscapes and creative insights inspiring the collective even further. In Stasis is an album that’s defined itself. Throughout the journey of creating the record, MONUMENTSallowed themselves to communicate concepts and ideas naturally. Through this process, the band has found much more common ground with themselves as writers than ever before.

Transatlantic progressive metal outfit MONUMENTS release their new track and music video, “False Providence”, from their highly anticipated 4th album, In Stasis, out April 15th. The song is available now on all digital platforms and the music video, which was directed and produced by Zak Pinchin, will be available at 8pm CET / 7pm GMT / 3pm ET / 12pm PT, HERE.
“When you dedicate your life to believing in something, then realising it was all for nothing. Despite your unflinching loyalty, the void within persists. – ‘As gods speak through us, suicidal sights remain,” states MONUMENTS about the new track.
Adds the band about In Stasis, “We approached this album without the intention of a specific concept. However – three songs in, what was being written ended up sharing a common theme. This feeling of being stuck in the middle, a feeling we experience throughout our lives – within friendships and relationships, love to hate, life to death, belief or non-belief, being in power to total defeat, isolation to freedom. Over the past 2 years, we have been faced with many of these trials, and these struggles can be heard throughout the record. This record is a culmination of our greatest triumphs and our deepest struggles. We hope it resonates with you, and brings you closer to equilibrium. We’d like to thank guests Neema Askari (Form Subtract, ex Fellsilent, ex-Monuments), Spencer Sotelo (Periphery, King Mothership), and Mick Gordon (DOOM, Prey, Killer Instinct) for enhancing the record with their unique perspectives.”
In Stasis can be ordered HERE and can be found online in the following formats:
Ltd. CD Digipak
Digital album
Gatefold black LP+CD & Poster
300x Gatefold transp. blue LP+CD & Poster from UK Indies and EMP
500x Gatefold ultra clear LP+CD & Poster from Monuments and
In Stasis tracklist:
1.     No One Will Teach You (feat. Neema Askari)
2.     Lavos
3.     Cardinal Red
4.     Opiate
5.     Collapse
6.     Arch Essence (feat. Spencer Sotelo)
7.     Somnus
8.     False Providence
9.     Makeshift Harmony
10.  The Cimmerian
In Stasis credits:
Produced, Recorded and Edited by John Browne, Andy Cizek and Mike Malyan
Co-Produced by Mick Gordon
Additional Engineering by Ross Halden, Justin Woodward and Adam Steel
Additional Editing by Charlie Abend and Evan Sammons
Mixing by George Lever @ G1 Productions
Mastering by Jens Bogren @ Fascination Street
Artwork by Visual Amnesia
Check out MONUMENTS previously released tracks “Lavos” (feat. Mick Gordon) and
MONUMENTS is (left to right) Mike (drums), Andy (vocals), Swan (bass), and Browne (guitar).