Icelandic Progressive Metal Band Vögel Signs With Wormholedeath





Emerging from the dark Reykjavík, Iceland, Vögel melts together various different tones and styles under the influence of metal, rock, and jazz. The band started in 2017 when three old friends reunited and when the magical fourth member showed up there was no turning back. Vögel is a German word for ‘birds’ – creatures evolving from dinosaurs who can fly wherever they want to, totally free. In late 2019 the band released their debut album, Ómstríð, a wordplay of the Icelandic word for ‘dissonant’ (‘ómstríða’)– commonly used in music theory – turning it into a mixture of the word ‘echo’ and ‘war’. The album lyrics are heavily influenced by mental health, still a taboo in many societies.

Vögel have signed a deal with Wormholedeath for the reissue of “Ómstríð”, due for re-released on September 9th, 2022.

The band speaking of the signing and the album stated: Vögel is delighted to sign a distribution agreement with Wormholedeath for our debut album “Ómstríð”. 

Ómstríð is a 10-song debut album of the metal band Vögel, recorded in the fall of 2018 in Reykjavík, Iceland. It was released about a year later, on October 19th, 2019. It was recorded by Vögel and mixed by its own bass player, Arnar Ástvaldsson. Mastering was in the hands of Leon Smith at Subvert Central Mastering. The lyrics are highly influenced by the peculiar nature of mental health, depression, and anxiety in the land of cold and dark winters. It is about not feeling well.

Line Up:
Arnar Ástvaldsson – Bass / Vocals
Arnar Snævar Eggertsson – Drums
Finnur Þór Helgason – Guitars
Sindri Snær Thorlacius – Guitars / Vocals

Cover & Tracklist



1. Heltekinn
2. Lægð
3. Djöfullinn sjálfur
4. Tvífarinn
5. Mér líður svo illa
6. Snákarnir dvelja, Strákarnir kvelja
7. Móðan mikla
8. Andlitið auða
9. Glötun
10. Vonleysa

Lægð (Audiostream Video)


Vögel Online



Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube