HAWXX encourage vulnerability with new single ‘Reckless’ and announce UK tour



Promo Image: HAWXX

Today, London-based alternative metallers HAWXX are encouraging vulnerability and celebrating softness with their brand new single ‘Reckless’, taken from their debut full-length album Earth, Spit, Blood and Bones, due 3rd November. 

Watch the lyric video for ‘Reckless’ here.

On the new single, vocalist and guitarist Anna Papadimitriou comments:
“‘Reckless’ is a song for the highly sensitive people. Those of us that feel everything all the time and sometimes wish we wouldn’t. Despite the fact that it’s in the fabric of our society to harden those soft parts of ourselves, this song is about those moments of pure, bold vulnerability, stepping forward with an unguarded heart. Perhaps this desire to be truly witnessed lives within all of us – what would we do if we weren’t afraid?”

HAWXX – ‘Reckless’

‘Reckless’ is the fourth single to be taken from the band’s debut album, following the likes of ‘Embrace the Ugly‘, ‘Soulbreaking Machines‘ and ‘The Worst Thing‘. The band have also announced that they’ll be heading out on the road for a UK and EU tour supporting Halocene this November. UK dates below: 

30.11.23 Fleece, Bristol
01.12.23 Institute 02, Birmingham
02.12.23 Slay, Glasgow
03.12.23 Academy, Manchester
04.12.23 Islington Academy, London

HAWXX hail from Greece, Italy, Wales, and England, with a sound that is made up of four-part harmonies, drop tuned heavy riffs and progressive drums. Writing songs about oppressive beauty standards, mental health struggles, violence against women and queer people, self empowerment, this is more than just a band – it’s a necessary vehicle of catharsis, love and rage. As a feminist band it is HAWXX’s aim to be part of changing the landscape of the rock and metal world and for their gigs to be a collective experience of love and rage, holding women and queer people at the centre.
HAWXX – Earth, Spit, Blood and Bones
Album ArtworkTrack Listing:

1. Death Makes Sisters of Us All
2. The Worst Thing
3. Reckless
4. Embrace the Ugly
5. Trust Your Rage
6. If Not Now Then When
7. Filth
8. Bite
9. Soulbreaking Machines
10. Fathertongue

Summer 2023 saw the axe-wielding metallers perform at Download Festival to a packed out Dogtooth Stage, and the year before that they embarked on a tour across the UK, Ireland and the Netherlands supporting Alter Bridge‘s Mark Tremonti, with more slots at Download Festival, Radar Fest, Great Escape, Summer Breeze in Germany, and Burn it Down Festival respectively sprinkled throughout. As well as being endorsed by Jackson Guitars, Rotosound Strings and Victory Amplifiers, winning the PRS Women Make Music Award, playing a exclusive performance at the Heavy Music Awards and playing a packed out tent at Bloodstock Festival described by Metal Planet Music as an ‘I was there’ moment, Hannah and Anna were also listed in Metal Hammers list of “13 Metal Guitarists That Will Change the World.”
HAWXX – ‘Reckless’
Single Artwork – Julia Cadau
Band Members:
Anna Papadimitriou – vocals / guitars
Hannah Staphnill – guitars / backing vocals
Julia Cadau – bass / backing vocals
Jessica Dann – drums / backing vocalsSocial Media Links:
Website || Facebook || Instagram || Twitter || YouTube || TikTok