Hardcore band Downfall release fiery new LP, Behind The Curtain

Hardcore band Downfall release
fiery new LP, Behind The Curtain

Out now on DAZE / Triple B Records

Photo Credit: Charlotte Mooney

STREAM: Behind The Curtain
Bandcamp | Spotify

PURCHASE: Behind The Curtain
DAZE | Triple B Records

“This fuckin’ shreds.” – BrooklynVegan

“It’s a full-on Madball-style fuck-you-up anthem with the kind of breakdown that might cause you to attempt to clothesline an oncoming freight train.” – Stereogum

Today, Downfall have released their new album, Behind The Curtain, out via DAZE and Triple B Records. Emerging out of the hardcore-heavy Richmond, VA music scene, the band bring plenty of rage on the record. The album was recorded in 2021 with Bob Quirk (Enforced) at Studio F12 and The Ward, mixed by Will Hirst (Gate 4 Studios) and mastered by Bill Henderson (Azimuth Studios).

Across the ten tracks on Behind The Curtain, Downfall gets heavy and personal as they push their creative boundaries into an almost unhinged territory. The fiery album starts with a “Descent” before heading into “Broken Mind” which features absolutely nasty guitar tones. Singles “Scorn” and “Primitive Reality” set the tone for the record with their aggressive vocal delivery and wild breakdowns, the former featuring guest vocals from David Blom of Sanction. Downfall pulls from a diverse range of influences, citing  bands like Pantera and Hatebreed, and that’s readily apparent as the album continues on with “Bloodline” and “Let Me Die”. Steering clear of negative thoughts, challenging your primal rage and mental perseverance are recurring lyrical themes throughout the record. “Confession” taps into this mindset while closer “Behind The Curtain” serves as the epilogue of the album. As vocalist Hunter Mowels puts it: “​​We wanted to wrap up the LP with a song that leaves you remembering what we’re all about. It’s to cement the fact that no matter how rough life is, what we’ve endured, how fucked up we are… you can’t crush us. It will never happen.”

Behind The Curtain is available now through DAZE and Triple B Records, and can be streamed here.

Behind The Curtain Tracklist:
1. Descent
2. Broken Mind
3. Hateflow
4. Scorn
5. Primitive Reality
6. Bloodline
7. Let Me Die
8. Confession
9. Richmond
10. Behind The Curtain
Formed in 2017, Downfall has previously released two EPs, their 2017 Demo, and 2019’s Dead To Me. Sharing members with Combust, Mutually Assured Destruction, and Killing Pace, the band are growing to be staples in the East Coast hardcore scene and beyond.
%d bloggers like this: