GRAPHIC NATURE announce their debut album, ‘a mind waiting to die’, with new single, ‘Killing Floor’

GRAPHIC NATURE announce their debut album, ‘a mind waiting to die’, with new single ‘Killing Floor’ 


Rising British metallers, Graphic Nature, known for their aggressive contemporary sound, one influenced by nu-metal and early 2000’s metalcore, have today announced their highly anticipated debut album ‘a mind waiting to die’, which will be released on February 17, 2023 via Rude Records. Today, the band also releases a new single and music video for ‘Killing Floor’.

“Killing floor is an interesting song,” explains vocalist Harvey Freeman“I wrote the lyrics in a completely different style to any song we’ve ever written before. Usually I write about things that I go through in day to day life, emotions that I struggle with. But this track is very different, I wrote the song from the perspective of a wannabe serial killer…someone that isn’t seen by the public eye but craves the attention and thrill of the consequences that come with killing another human being.

The character from the video has watched far too many movies and takes things quite literally. If you’re an avid film watcher you will see many references to certain movies and tv shows like American Psycho, The Zodiac, Joker, Dexter etc. He also based his “mask” on characters like Mankind from WWE and Hush from Batman.

There’s a certain dark humour to his movements and actions. How he speaks to himself and dances around the room. He keeps a journal of people he’s stalking currently. He is very amateur but thinks he’s the best at his craft. The song itself is probably one of our more creative songs we’ve written.”

GRAPHIC NATURE – ‘Killing Floor’ (Official Music Video)

Speaking of ‘a mind waiting to die’, Freeman says, “this is our debut album. We wrote the entirety of the record during lockdown when things were at their darkest. A lot of the lyrical content stems from personal experience and challenges with mental health and isolation.”

“Each song has a different subject, much like our previous tracks. We dive deep into depression, thoughts that lead you to a very dark place, frustration, sensory overload, anxiety, trauma, relationship issues etc. It’s a lot to take in and we’ve portrayed it in what we believe to be a perfect representation of how our heads process these things: pure anger over heavy riffs and drum beats. It’s what we do.”

‘a mind waiting to die’ track listing:

1. 404
2. Sour
3. Into The Dark
4. Killing Floor
5. Sleepless
6. White Noise
7. 90
8. Bad Blood
9. Twisted Fear
10. Headstone
11. Death Wish
12. A Twin
13. The Downpour

Graphic Nature is Jack Bowdery (drums), Harvey Freeman (vocals), Matas Michailovskis (guitar), Pete Woolven (guitar) and Charlie Smith (bass).

Graphic Nature is confirmed for Download Festival 2023, which wil take place at Donington Park the 8th-11th of June. Tickets are on sale now here: