Grand Slam – Release New Single “Spitfire”




Grand Slam unleash the video for “Spitfire”, the ferocious second single from the new studio album, Wheel Of Fortune – out on June 7th via Silver Lining Music.

“I simply can’t wait for you guys to listen to this track. It’s a complete monster!” exclaims front man Mike Dyer. “We had the music and the lyrics weren’t quite breaking through. I went to bed that night in the studio under considerable pressure from the boys and I read an incredible story about a young 12-year-old who had a fear of heights, he overcame his fear by jumping off a high board. Eventually, he moved from South Africa to Oxford, England and became a Spitfire ace, age 19!”

I had a rough arrangement idea down for ‘Spitfire’,” adds guitarist and co-founding member Laurence Archer “but it was only once we all got together in the studio that we found the true feel for the song and it transformed into the monster that it is.”

Watch/Listen to ‘Spitfire’ here
Video by Fred Johanson

Grand Slam’s story has been a true journey of destiny, one where early unions ended up leaving unfinished business on the table, and one which finally sees the band attending to said-business with the brand-new album Wheel Of Fortune. From Archer’s faultless, fearless fret-driven song architecture on ‘Spitfire’ to Dyer’s swagger and style on ‘There Goes My Heart’. There are moments such as ‘Come Together (In Harlem)’ where the moody strut of original co-founder Phil Lynott is unmistakable, yet the multi-layered steamy swing of ‘Pirate Song’ makes it very clear Grand Slam are firing forwards with all guns blazing. Joined by Benjy Reid on drums and Rocky Newton on bass, the creative vigor and will to propel Grand Slam is stronger still, with the new album Wheel Of Fortune being the true statement to this.

We have a direction that is in my heart, it’s a tribal thing,” Dyer explains, “and the Wheel Of Fortune album is Grand Slam in big boy pants without any scaffolding. This band is something very special; I’m slightly biased I know, but God, I’m really proud of that.

Wheel Of Fortune will be released on digital and physical formats on June 7th. The album will be available in a variety of formats and pre-orders can be placed at this location
The first single/video released from the album, ‘There Goes My Heart’ is available to stream at this location (video directed, produced and edited by Paul M Green).

Grand Slam will also re-release their debut album Hit The Ground. Re-mixed, re-mastered and featuring new Artwork, Hit The Ground – Revised, will be released on May 10th on digital formats and June 7th on physical formats. Pre-orders can be placed at this location

With an overall joy at everything going in their world, Grand Slam will be here whether you are or not, because this not a band rumbling in from their past, it’s a band striding forward into their bright future.

I want everybody to see this as a new band… and anybody that hasn’t heard Grand Slam since 1984, I want them to see this as a fresh invigoration of the project moving into the modern times” concludes Archer.

Wheel Of Fortune Track Listing:

  1. There Goes My Heart
  2. Starcrossed Lovers
  3. Come Together (In Harlem)
  4. Trail Of Tears
  5. Feeling Is Strong (Jo’s Song)
  6. Spitfire
  7. I Wanna Know!
  8. Pirate Song
  9. Afterlife
  10. Wheel Of Fortune

Hit The Ground – Revised Track Listing:

  1. Gone Are The Days
  2. Nineteen
  3. Hit The Ground
  4. Military Man
  5. Crazy
  6. Dedication
  7. Long Road
  8. Sisters Of Mercy
  9. Crime Rate
  10. Grand Slam*

*not available on vinyl

Mike Dyer – vocals
Laurence Archer – guitars
Benjy Reid – drums
Rocky Newton – bass 

Wheel Of Fortune is Produced by Laurence Archer
Engineered by Pieter Rietkerk
Mixed by Laurence Archer
Mastered by Matt Wortham & Andy Pearce
Recorded at Chapel Studios; additional recording at Manamana Studios

Follow Grand Slam on: