EINAR SOLBERG (Leprous) launches new single ‘Over The Top’

EINAR SOLBERG launches new single ‘Over The Top’

Photo by Elena Sihida

First solo live performance this weekend at Prognosis Festival

EINAR SOLBERG – frontman of Norwegian rock mavericks Leprous – recently announced the release of his debut solo album ‘16’ on the 2nd June 2023. Wildly diverse, but spiritually rooted in Einar’s well-established musical world, ‘16’ is an album that brims with surprises and spinning curveballs and features a collection of intimate but extravagant collaborations.

Today, ahead of his first ever live performance of his solo material at Prognosis Festival in the Netherlands, Einar is pleased to announce his cinematic new single ‘Over The Top’. Watch the video, directed by Elena Sihida, here: https://youtu.be/IsTf5iLiwyM

As mentioned, Einar will be performing this material for the first time ever at Prognosis Festival in the Netherlands this weekend, with an appearance at the London edition the following weekend. For these shows he will be joined by Hrafnkell Örn Guðjónsson (Agent Fresco), Ben Levin (ex-Bent Knee), Chris Baum (Bent Knee), Ari Karason (Mezzoforte) and Ruben Aksnes (Maraton). You can find more details here: https://www.prognosis-festival.nl/

Watch the previously released videos below:

 ‘A Beautiful Life’: https://youtu.be/XAE2y2RfHtg

‘Grotto’ (feat. Magnus Børmark): https://youtu.be/r_Ol_LSma6k

‘16’ will be released on Ltd CD Digipak, Gatefold 180g 2LP + LP-booklet & Digitally, and is now available to pre-order here: https://einarsolberg-artist.lnk.to/sixteen

Einar Solberg is as renowned for the tender honesty of his lyrics as he is for the eccentric majesty of Leprous’ music. But even by his usual standards, ‘16’ is an extremely emotional and dynamic piece of work. Einar describes the record as “the closest I’ve ever come to writing a concept album” and explains that the new songs are about a very specific and transformational period in the musician’s life. This is the sound of a restless spirit in his absolute element.

“It’s called 16 because that’s when the first really, really bad things started happening to me in life. From 16 to 19, there were a lot of very life-defining moments that happened to me, and that changed me,” he says. “That’s when I kind of lost my innocence and I started realising that life is serious and bad shit can happen. A lot of pretty drastic things happened within those three years. But this album is not only about the bad things. It’s also about some of the career-defining moments, like the moment I started playing with the band and began to find a community to belong to. Emotionally, I’m a bit of everything, so it covers the entire emotional spectrum!”

’16’ finds Einar collaborating with everyone from modern prog contemporaries like Bent Knee’s Ben Levin and Agent Fresco’s Toti Gudnason, to experimental cellist (and regular Leprous live musician) Raphael Weinroth-Browne and Magnus Børmark, best known as a member of Norwegian alt-folk troupe Gåte. He also once again collaborates with Ihsahn and Star Of Ash amongst many others. The record was mixed by mixed by Adam Noble (Placebo, Biffy Clyro, Nothing But Thieves) and mastered by Robin Schmidt (The 1975, Placebo, The Gaslight Anthem, etc.). The cover artwork was designed by Elena Sihida.

The full track-listing is as follows:

  1. 16 (feat. Raphael Weinroth-Browne)
  2. Remember Me
  3. A Beautiful Life
  4. Where All The Twigs Broke (feat. Star Of Ash)
  5. Metacognitive
  6. Home (feat. Ben Levin)
  7. Blue Light (feat. Asger Mygind)
  8. Grotto (feat. Magnus Børmark)
  9. Splitting The Soul (feat. Ihsahn)
  10. Over The Top
  11. The Glass Is Empty (feat. Tóti Guðnason)