Doom Metal Kings CANDLEMASS Unveil Third Single + Lyric Video for “When Death Sighs”


Grammy-Nominated Doom Metal Kings CANDLEMASS Premiere Third Single “When Death Sighs” and Lyric Video | Watch HERE!

Pre-Order the New Album, Sweet Evil Sun, Out This Friday, November 18,  NOW!

[picture credits: Linda Akerberg]

“These doom metal pioneers are getting better and better the more they age.”
(Inferno, FI)
“Outstanding attitude, pure doom dominance!”
(Metal Hammer, GER)
“…every bit as good as its predecessor – if not better.”

“Thirteen albums in, and these Swedes sound more epic than ever”
(Fistful Of Metal, UK)

“With this album, CANDLEMASS prove once again they are the real kings of doom metal.”
(Rock Hard, IT)

“The godfathers of epic doom metal prove once again that they can wallow in the doomy sonic mire like no one else. Stay doomed!”
(La Heavy, ES)

CANDLEMASS…Returning to the dark light!”

(Metallian, FR)
Legendary classic doom icons CANDLEMASS recently announced the release of their new album, Sweet Evil Sun, to finally see the light of day this Friday, November 18, via Napalm Records. With this top-notch offering, recorded at NOX studio in Stockholm, the Swedish force centered around Leif Edling continue their unmatched legacy, following the inimitable The Door to Doom (2019) and proving once more that they reign as one of the heaviest metal bands on earth, bringing epic doom to the world of metal.After releasing the hammering first single, “Scandinavian Gods” and the heavy doom successor track “Sweet Evil Sun”, it’s time to unveil the next appetizer “When Death Sighs”! Lethargic riffs announcing the ominous arrival of death, while Jennie-Ann Smith, mesmerizing vocalist of Edling’s brainchild Avatarium, accents the song’s shimmering, blood-freezing chorus lines. With no exit out of the situation, the haunted atmosphere is supported by an amazing guitar solo closing the dark chapter of the death’s breath, underlined by an eerie lyric video to capture this dark feeling visually.

Watch the lyric video for “When Death Sighs” HERE:
[Video and illustrations by Costin Chioreanu (Twilight13media)]

After working on this massive piece of art for 18 months in total, with Sweet Evil SunCANDLEMASS brings back all the grandness of their early years, exploring themes of ambition and strife, hope and failure. It comes as no surprise that, alongside the band, renowned producer Marcus Jidell captured the band’s massive, smoky guitar tones, powerful drums and larger-than-life vocals, offering a truly unique, high quality sonic experience.

Through the power of wall-shaking riffs, incredible vocal performances and the blood and spirit of classic heavy metal, Sweet Evil Sun shines as a masterpiece of impending legend that truly honors the epic doom metal cult of CANDLEMASS.

The artwork for Sweet Evil Sun was illustrated by the skilled hand of Erik Rovanperä, the architect behind CANDLEMASS’ visual style since Psalms for the Dead (2012).

Leif Edling on the new album:         
Sweet Evil Sun is about hope, striving, adoration and failure. It’s about all the personal battles that you have, but also the never-ending decay of humanity.
The record took over a year to make and there’s not a bad track on it! We had a fantastic time recording it and are really looking forward to the release. It’s Doom, It’s Metal! It is the essence of CANDLEMASS put into one album!”

Pre-Order your copy of Sweet Evil Sun NOW!
Sweet Evil Sun Tracklist:
1. Wizard Of The Vortex
2. Sweet Evil Sun
3. Angel Battle
4. Black Butterfly
5. When Death Sighs
6. Scandinavian Gods
7. Devil Voodoo
8. Crucified
9. Goddess
10. A Cup Of Coffin (Outro)Sweet Evil Sun will be available in the following formats:
Ltd. Die Hard Vinyl Box (Napalm Shop only)
2LP Gatefold Sun Yellow (Napalm Shop only)
2LP Gatefold Black
2LP Gatefold Purple
1CD 6pp Digisleeve
CD Digisleeve + Shirt Bundle
Digital Album
[Ltd. Die Hard Vinyl Box (Napalm Shop only)]
Experience CANDLEMASS live in 2022:
19.11.22 DE –  Würzburg, Hammer of DoomCANDLEMASS are:
Johan Lanquist – Vocals
Lars Johansson – Lead Guitar
Mappe Björkman – Rhythm Guitar
Leif Edling – Bass
Janne Lind – Drums