404 Guild Release Debut Album ‘False Dawn’


Watch the Album Film Now


Essential leftfield hip-hop from the dark heart of the city” – Loud & Quiet 8/10


‘False Dawn’ is the debut album from UK rap collective 404 Guild. Years in the making, it is, to quote the group, “a flag stuck in the ground at the end of a long dark road.”  Arriving after 3 EPs (2019’s Guild One, Guild Two: Forever and last year’s Guild Three: Open Water) and two critically acclaimed side projects, ‘Pebbledash’ and ‘Paradise Drive’, the album is the sound of the Guild at their most cohesive and creative.

The album arrives with a powerful short film created by Devenny 404 with his long-term collaborator Ben Garcia Hughes, under their directed by SAMBU moniker. The first two parts of the film have already been revealed, as the videos to singles ‘Feedback Loop’ and ‘The Evening Star’, which have picked up support from Loud & Quiet, The Independent, NME, BBC 6Music, DIY, Dork, The Line of Best Fit and Dummy, to name a few.

The album release also follows 404 Guild’s sold out headline show at The Social in London, earlier this week.

“A full length Guild record is something we’d been dreaming of for so long but when it came to making it initially it didn’t click. We had around 50 songs in various stages of completion but between them we just couldn’t find ‘the album’. So we did the only 
logical thing and scrapped it all. We rented a cottage in the middle of nowhere out in the sticks and gave ourselves fourteen days to write the whole thing. Somehow it worked.

We knew that one aspect of our songwriting we all shared was storytelling – so made that the focus. To wrap up hundreds of stories into one. Our shared journey has been long, winding, and hard. But together we’ve made it through.

The environment had a huge impact on the record – it was lonely, the weather was weird, there was nowhere to go. But after months of the claustrophobia of lockdown it gave us the space to bring home years of collective ideas.

False Dawn is a flag stuck in the ground at the end of a long dark road. But for us, it’s only the beginning. “ – 404 Guild


The tracklist for ‘False Dawn’ is:


  1. At Square One
  2. Sodium Light
  3. Chiron
  4. Dead Air
  5. Feedback Loop
  6. Approach
  7. Contact
  8. New Health
  9. The Evening Star
  10. Weak
  11. World Gets Better
  12. Still