DELAIN unveil new single/video ‘Queen Of Shadow’




[Photo Credit: Andrea Falaschi]

“This feels like a band reborn: grandiose and fizzing with bright energy.” – Metal Hammer

On the eve of their highly anticipated new album ‘Dark Waters’ being released tomorrow, February 10th, metal maestros DELAIN have gifted fans one more advance single, unveiling new track ‘Queen Of Shadow’, together with a hauntingly beautiful official music video.

The track merges the orchestral and synth-focused soundscapes DELAIN is known for. It weaves melodic heavy guitars that intertwine with orchestral lines and vocal melodies, marking another powerful example of the fresh new sound that presents the crystal clear voice of frontwoman Diana Leah – shining bright like the early morning sun of a yet untouched day. Supported by Paolo Ribaldini and instrumental expertise, the song displays all aspects and colours of their multifaceted spectrum – ranging from pop, to film score-inspired, to blistering, room shaking metal.

Keyboardist, founder, and main songwriter Martijn Westerholt comments, “’Queen of Shadow’ is a classic example of pure DELAIN-style. Musically it has some really awesome things going on such as harmonic guitars and catchy melodies which are complemented by both the alluring and powerhouse vocals of Diana and our guest singer Paolo.”

Watch the official music video for ‘Queen Of Shadow’ HERE or by clicking below.

DELAIN are well known the world over for their unique sound – catchy, bombastic tunes full of contrasts and the highest standard of orchestral arrangements. Joining Martijn Westerholt, original guitarist Ronald Landa and original drummer Sander Zoer have returned to the fold bolstering DELAIN’s continuity, while new members – Diana Leah and bassist Ludovico Cioffi – continue to evolve their sound. The globally respected band are at the top of their game.

Fuelled by massive support and enthusiasm from both critics and fans alike, songs like “The Quest and The Curse” as well as “The Cold” (the latter featuring an epic choir), lure with their characteristic, bombastic sound that skilfully combines orchestral melodies, crushingly heavy riffs, and soaring vocal performances. Prior single “Beneath” (which has clocked up over 1M video views so far) perfectly showcases the talent and musical sophistication of new vocalist Diana Leah, utilising modern, synth melodies mixed with hook-filled classical passages and ominous riffs, and the welcome inclusion of guest singer Paolo Ribaldini. Pop-infused opening track “Hideaway Paradise” induces a dream-like feeling that flirts with melodic metal guitars, while the ballad-like dark earworm “Mirror Of Night”, guest features none other than Within Temptation guitarist Ruud Jolie. “Tainted Hearts” is centred around Westerholt’s keyboard arrangements, skilfully displaying the creative roots of the group’s mastermind. “Invictus” is nothing less than the Magnum Opus of the album – a rock opera in its own right with heavy riffs, choirs, and vocal parts performed by Diana Leah, Paolo Ribaldini, and Marko Hietala (ex-Nightwish), closing with a unified, jaw-dropping climax.

Martijn adds, “This album captures all elements DELAIN is known for – our distinctive heavy guitar riffs, massive orchestral parts, both heavy metal and pop vocals, rock opera vibes along with 80s synth sounds. In short, this is definitely a recognisable DELAIN album that contains classic ‘DELAIN elements’ while also moving forward with fresh influences.”

Dark Waters Tracklisting:

  1. Hideaway Paradise
  2. The Quest And The Curse
  3. Beneath
  4. Mirror Of Night
  5. Tainted Hearts
  6. The Cold
  7. Moth To A Flame
  8. Queen Of Shadow
  9. Invictus
  10. Underland

Dark Waters is available in the following formats:

  • 2-LP Gatefold (Black)
  • 2-CD Digisleeve + Shirt Bundle (Napalm shop only)
  • 2-LP Gatefold Marbled Blue/Black/White – limited to 300 copies worldwide (Napalm shop only)
  • Wooden Boxset incl. Digisleeve 2CDs (Regular Album + Instrumental Album), 1-CD Slipcase with Orchestral Album, Coasters (6pcs), Flag, Band Picture Postcard – limited to 500 copies worldwide (Napalm shop only)
  • Digital Album


The talented group return to the UK for two live shows in April 2023:

Fri 21st Apr – MANCHESTER Academy 2

Sat 22nd Apr – LONDON O2 Academy Islington

Tickets are on sale now. Additional dates include:

DELAIN Live 2023

14.04.23 NL – Tilburg / 013

15.04.23 NL – Haarlem / Patronaat

21.04.23 UK – Manchester / Academy 2

22.04.23 UK – London / O2 Islington Academy

24.04.23 LU – Luxembourg / Rockhal

24.04.23 FR – Paris / Le Trabendo

27.04.23 CH – Zurich / Komplex 457

28.04.23 DE – Munich / Backstage Halle

29.04.23 DE – Stuttgart / Im Wizemann Club

30.04.23 DE – Berlin / Hole44

02.05.23 DE – Hamburg / Knust

03.05.23 DE – Essen / Turock

DELAIN have been sharing their signature, catchy, melodic sound worldwide for over two decades now. Enchanting fans with their most well-known hits like “We Are the Others” or “April Rain”, the rockers have racked up millions of Spotify streams and video views. With six albums already under their belt, DELAIN have charted multiple times all over the world with acclaimed records like Apocalypse & Chill and Hunter’s Moon. The band traversed the globe with acts including Sabaton, Nightwish, and Within Temptation, complemented by stellar performances at the biggest European festivals like Wacken, Graspop, Download, Bloodstock, and many more. DELAIN have firmly carved their name in the metal scene and triumphantly embark on this exciting next voyage.


Martijn Westerholt – keyboards

Diana Leah – vocals

Ronald Landa – guitars and backing vocals

Ludovico Cioffi – bass and backing vocals

Sander Zoer – drums


Facebook  Twitter  Instagram  YouTube  Web