City and Colour aka Dallas Green releases video for new single ‘Fucked It Up’…

Directed by Michael Maxxis


Photo Credit: Vanessa Heins

City and Colour – acclaimed singer, songwriter and performer Dallas Green – has released a video for “Fucked It Up”, the latest single from his highly-anticipated new album The Love Still Held Me Near available March 31 via Still Records, an imprint of Dine Alone Records.

The Love Still Held Me Near is a deeply personal and cathartic offering, and the most sonically expansive in the celebrated City and Colour canon. Watch “Fucked It Up” HERE.

The emotional new track highlights the vulnerability and uncertainty that can often arise in relationships. “Fucked It Up” is a reminder that even the strongest of relationships can be tested by the challenges of life, while still offering a message of hope and resilience. “I wanted to write a playful song about the trials and tribulations of being in a relationship,” explains Green. “When you are young, you’re sold on this idea of what life is supposed to be…get married, have kids, and live happily ever after. But that’s not real life. You change. Life evolves and you evolve with it. This song is for everyone who’s going through it.”

Directed by Michael Maxxis, the latest video is the third instalment of a moody, and formidable cinematic series of videos set to accompany every song on the new LP. Says Maxxis, “​​Dallas’ walls are down on this album, and I wanted to capture that on film.”

Produced by Green and longtime band member and collaborator Matt Kelly, the 12 songs that comprise The Love Still Held Me Near follow the most difficult period in Green’s life, including the tragic loss of his best friend in 2019. Mixed by three-time Grammy-winner Jacquire King (Kings of Leon, Norah Jones, Tom Waits, Modest Mouse, Shania Twain and others), the album features Green’s voice louder than ever before, supported by arrangements that are at once delicate and nuanced but also enormously powerful.

With six studio albums to date, City and Colour has amassed a legion of passionate fans worldwide who connect with the depth and intimacy of Green’s songs. The Love Still Held Me Near finds the songwriter revealing more of himself amidst new textures, arrangements and soundscapes not previously heard on City and Colour albums. While it was born out of navigating a trying time, it is an album of hope, redemption and inspiration, taking a trip from the emotional depths through the other side and finding a way to, as the closing track says, “Begin Again”.

The Love That Held Me Near Tracklist
1. Meant to Be
2. Underground
3. Fucked it Up
4. The Love Still Held Me Near
5. A Little Mercy
6. Things We Choose to Care About
7. After Disaster
8. Without Warning
9. Hard, Hard Time
10. The Water is Coming
11. Bow Down to Love
12. Begin AgainAbout City and Colour:
Over the course of six studio albums, Dallas Green has compiled a canon ripe with songs born of adoration and devotion amassing a legion of fans worldwide and garnering him 3 JUNOs, including two Songwriter of the Year awards, plus 1 Triple Platinum, 2 Double Platinum, 1 Platinum, and 1 Gold certification at home in Canada. Alongside these accomplishments, Green has been awarded Platinum-certification for all four of Alexisonfire’s full-length records.

City and Colour’s last studio album A Pill For Loneliness – released on Green’s Still Records, an imprint of Dine Alone Records – debuted at #1 on the Billboard Canadian Albums Chart, his 4th consecutive chart-topper in Canada. His previous #1 LP If I Should Go Before You made serious waves internationally debuting at #16 on the U.S. Billboard 200 Chart and #5 in Australia where Green’s LP Little Hell was certified GOLD. In 2014, Green collaborated with international superstar Alecia Moore (aka P!nk) on a new project titled You+Me. The duo’s acclaimed Platinum-certified first record, rose ave., debuted at #4 on the U.S. Top 200 Chart, #1 in Canada, #2 in Australia culminating in memorable performances on The Ellen Show and Jimmy Kimmel Live.

Green was personally invited by Alice in Chains to perform alongside Metallica, Korn, members of Soundgarden, Jane’s Addiction, Nirvana and other legendary artists when the Seattle quartet were honoured as the recipients of the 2020 Founder’s Award from the Museum of Pop Culture (MoPop).  In 2022, Green was honored with the SOCAN National Achievement Award at the JUNO Awards in recognition of his philanthropic contributions to music education in Canada.

City and Colour: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram |
Still Records | Dine Alone Records