Chayce Beckham Sets Debut Album ‘Bad For Me’ For Friday, April 5th


First Track “Waylon In ‘75” Available Now

Following Nomination For Breakthrough Male Video of the Year At The 2024 CMT Music Awards

Credit: Robby Klein

NASHVILLE, TN. – (15th March, 2024) – Nominated at this year’s CMT Music Awards for Breakthrough Male Video of the Year for his PLATINUM hit single “23” that’s surging toward #1 on US country radio, Amazon Music’s “Breakthrough Artist to Watch” Chayce Beckham has released the first track from his highly anticipated debut album Bad For Me, coming Friday, April 5, with the rowdy anthem “Waylon in ‘75”.
Listen to “Waylon in ‘75” HERE and pre-order/pre-save/pre-add Bad For Me HERE
“Once I finished recording this album and had time to live with it, I felt the title Bad For Me fit perfectly. It sums up a lot of my own faults,” says Beckham. “I like a lot of stuff that’s bad for me, even though it ends up being kryptonite but that’s all a part of being human. I am so proud of this record. I just hope there’s a song on this album that makes somebody feel something.”
Produced by Bart Butler (Jon Pardi, Midland, Warren Zeiders), apart from “23” (Ross Copperman), Bad for Me puts Beckham’s wild card under a microscope as his soul-searching songwriting takes centerstage. Carefully crafting a series of deeply personal stories, his true-to-Beckham mix of dusky Western sonics and smouldering rock energy come to the forefront, as fiddle, steel and loping rhythms stand beside a rebellious, untamed spirit and his rustic vocal.
Continuing to open his soul like most would never dare, Bad For Me’s themes like substance abuse, guilt and romantic remorse are in plain view, joined by the inner struggle of a man wishing he was more. Battling the bottomless pit of wondering how things got the way they are, this album also shows an appreciation for life itself, and a promise to keep up the fight.
Featuring the 19 Recordings/Wheelhouse Records/BMG artist’s solo-written, PLATINUM hit song “23” that’s streaming over 4.6M per week and surging toward #1 at US country radio, the former fork-lift driver’s debut features 13 tracks, including several he wrote entirely by himself before he won American Idol, including the poignant fan-favourite “Mama” that he actually performed on the show, along with the propulsive barroom rocker “Drink You Off My Mind.”
Bad For Me Tracklisting:
1. Devil I’ve Been (Chayce Beckham, John Pierce, Lindsay Rimes)
2. Addicted And Clean (Chayce Beckham, Emily Landis, Justin Morgan)
3. Waylon In ‘75 (Jon Randall, Brett James, Parker McCollum, Lee Thomas Miller)
4. Bad For Me (Joe Fox, Randy Montana, Tyler Chambers)
5. Drink You Off My Mind (Chayce Beckham)
6. Everything I Need (Chayce Beckham, John Pierce, Lindsay Rimes)
7. Whiskey Country (Chayce Beckham, John Pierce, Lindsay Rimes)
8. Glitter (Joey Hendricks, Mark Trussell, Natalie Hemby)
9. Smokin’ Weed and Drinkin’ Whiskey (Chayce Beckham, Andy Albert, Mark Trussell)
10. Something Worth Holding On To (John Pierce, Brandon Kinney, Micah Wilshire)
11. Mama (Chayce Beckham)
12. If I Had A Week (Chayce Beckham, Scooter Carusoe)
13. 23 (Chayce Beckham)*
Produced by Bart Butler
* Produced by Ross Copperman
Three years after becoming the only artist to win American Idol singing his own songs, 19 Recordings/Wheelhouse Records/BMG country artist Chayce Beckham is living proof of his belief that “You can’t tell someone how to write a song.” Currently nominated at this year’s CMT Music Awards for Breakthrough Male Video of the Year for his PLATINUM hit single “23” surging toward #1 on country radio, the fiery singer-songwriter laid out a course only he could follow, and today remains even more dedicated to his unique creative compass. A California native schooled on tough times and a mix of country, rock, hip hop and beyond, Beckham started a habit of heart-on-his-sleeve songwriting after some hard times when he felt he had nothing left – and when combined with his warm vocal rasp on “23,” that drive helped him charm the nation on Idol‘s 19th season in 2021. With more than 358 million streams and counting, the bluesy and brutally honest anthem debuted at #1 on both iTunes’ Country and All Genre singles charts, and now leads Beckham’s first album, Bad for Me, as the emerging star finds his stride. Co-writing nine of 13 songs (three solo), the project shows Beckham opening his soul like most would never dare and embracing a timeless country-rock sound defined by fiddles, steel guitar, and plenty of against-the-grain attitude. With dusky shades of heroes like Johnny Cash, Waylon Jennings, and Kris Kristofferson, the set aims to reinforce next-big-thing predictions from CMT, Amazon Music, MusicRow and more, while Beckham hits the road this summer on Luke Bryan’s “Mind Of A Country Boy” Tour and his own headlining 2024 “Bad for Me” Tour.