Boston hardcore band Move release debut album Black Radical Love on Triple B Records

Boston hardcore band Move release debut album

Black Radical Love on Triple B Records

Photo Credit: Olivia Slaughter

LISTEN: Black Radical Love
PURCHASE: Black Radical Love LP

“The spirit of revolution runs through the music in a focused and powerful current, the kind that shakes some consciences and worries others.” The Fader

“From its spoken word samples to its shouted lyrics, Black Radical Love is an overt piece of protest art, and it’s also a fiery hardcore album that makes it impossible to stand still”BrooklynVegan

“This is one of the best and most essential hardcore records of the year and it backs its ideas up with all the urgency and fury that they deserve.” Distorted Sound

“If you can make music so viscerally satisfying that you can get people to physically react, then you’re doing hardcore right. Move, like a few of their peers, excel at that part of hardcore, but they also connect it to something bigger than themselves. They give you a reason to rage, and they supply you with the music that’ll bring you to that point.” –  Stereogum

Boston hardcore band Move have released their debut full-length Black Radical Love, out now on Triple B Records. The twelve tracks on the album sway through hardcore rippers begging to be moved to in the pit, and powerful moments of spoken word provided by friends and fellow artists. Black Radical Love was recorded from February 2022 to September 2022, produced and mixed by Charlie Abend at Tower Farm Studios in Billerica, MA, with additional production by comfortabledude and Reg Manson, and mastered by Arthur Rizk. Guitarist Nick Hochmuth led the charge on creating the songs, demoing out the entire album during quarantine in 2021, and then working with the band collaboratively in the studio to achieve what is their proudest and most creative work yet.

“The songs are meant as a call to act, I want people to listen to these tracks and then move to better their conditions, I want people to move at our shows” exclaims vocalist Corey Charpentier.

“The record deals with our current position living underneath the US Imperialist state specifically a Black experience. The need for revolutionary change and the fact people are actively building a better future right now. It’s a tale of two records, Side A expresses our current frustrations and anger. Side B focuses on where we are going and the joy the journey brings us as we move towards a tomorrow where all people have their needs met to live their best lives.

The aesthetics are a continuation of Freedom Dreams (EP, released 2021) as these songs are additional entries in a music-based political journal that have continued to evolve along with my own political education. With riffs and visuals that make you stop and take a second to appreciate the art.

We want people to listen to these songs and become energized to act and figure out where they can take collective action with others. Just like we want people to take that same energy and be about that action in the pit too, songs that compel you to fight back against injustices and get down in the pit.”

Black Radical Love is available now through Triple B Records.

Move is Corey Charpentier (vocals), Nick Hochmuth (guitar), Andrew Crumby (guitar), Jake MacLean (bass), and Devon Austrie (drums).

Album Artwork by Mithsuca Berry

Black Radical Love Tracklist:

1. Double Death (ft: Aaron Heard)

2. Imperialist Reign

3. Statement: Lee Lee

4. Trojan Horse

5. Summer Trend (ft: Kayla Philips, River Elliott)

6. Ode to the Pit (ft: Gjared Robinson AKA Balaram Shakti Das)

7. Statement: Deja

8. For All Not One (ft: Christine Cadette)

9. Comrade

10. 1,000,000 Experiments

11. Ascent

12. Black Radical Love

Upcoming Shows:

August 19th – New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom – The Tribes Of Da Moon Festival w/ Burn, Soul Glo, Buggin, Kharma, Bleed The Pigs + more

December 9th – Cambridge, MA @ Middle East (Downstairs) w/ Bad Rabbits