Scotty McCreery Releases “Damn Strait” From Forthcoming Album ‘Same Truck’


North Carolina Native’s Fifth Studio Album Set for Release Sept. 17th (Pre-Order / Pre-Save Here)

Confirmed for C2C Festival 2022 in London, Glasgow and Dublin

Lead Single “You Time” Continues Climbing the US Country Radio Top 5

Credit: Jeff Ray 

– (14th September, 2021) – Ahead of the release of his highly anticipated fifth studio album, Triple Tigers recording artist Scotty McCreery imparts a cocktail of heartbreak and nostalgia with his steel-drenched country weeper “Damn Strait” from the 12-song collection Same Truck available this Friday, Sept. 17th. Listen to “Damn Strait” HERE and pre-order/pre-save Same Truck HERE.

Written by Trent Tomlinson and Jim Collins, “Damn Strait” cannily honours country music icon George Strait, even as the singer bemoans the loss of his lover, associating Strait’s songs with her since they were the couple’s favourites.

“Every now and then you hear a song that sounds so much like you,” recalls McCreery. “I grew up as a huge George Strait fan, and when I heard this song, I raised my hand to say, ‘I want this one.’ Every country fan has a George Strait story, and everyone has a memory attached to their favorite songs.”

McCreery goes on to say, “The first country music concert I ever went to was George Strait, Reba and Lee Ann Womack. When I saw that show, I said, ‘I’m gonna do that one day.’”

Set to perform the song on NBC’s “TODAY” next Tuesday, Sept. 21st, during the third hour, McCreery’s rich baritone strings together titles of Strait’s songs to tell the story:

‘Nobody In His Right Mind Would’ve Left Her’
That was her favorite song
She sang along every time it came on

The first time we danced was to ‘Marina Del Rey’
And I fell right there and then
I didn’t want that song to end

‘Baby Blue’ was the color of her eyes
I can still see them in my mind
Probably will for the rest of my life

Additionally, McCreery has been announced as a main stage performer at the upcoming C2C Festival next year, playing arenas in London, Glasgow, and Dublin – full dates below:

Friday, 11th March 2022 – Dublin, 3Arena
Saturday, 12th March 2022 – London, O2 Arena
Sunday, 13th March 2022 – Glasgow, SSE Hydro

He will also be performing an exclusive session on this week’s The Country Show with Bob Harris on BBC Radio 2, this Thursday (16/9) from 9pm BST.

Lead single “You Time” continues to climb the charts at US Country radio and is currently at No. 4 on both the Billboard and Country Aircheck/Mediabase radio charts, while Billboard boasts, “The first single from his forthcoming album bodes well for his streak of three back-to-back No. 1s to continue.”

The title track “Same Truck,” co-written with Ashley Gorley, Zack Crowell and Taylor Phillips, landed on ET’s “New Music Releases” and found praise from MusicRow as “celebratory,” while “the ringing guitars back an anthemic lyric of unity and brotherhood…Well written and performed with elan.”

Once again produced by Frank Rogers, Derek Wells and Aaron Eshuis, the team who produced his previous project (the RIAA Gold certified Seasons Change), Same Truck is a reflection of where McCreery is in life now as a 27-year-old man married to the love of his life for three years and who is also celebrating his 10th year as an entertainer. A limited edition, alternate cover for the album is available exclusively at McCreery’s online store, along with Same Truck-themed merchandise and more.

Released in 2018, Seasons Change debuted at No.1 on the Billboard Country Albums Chart and contained three consecutive No. 1 hits: the Double RIAA Platinum certified “Five More Minutes,” Platinum certified “This is It,” and Gold certified “In Between.”

In the midst of his You Time Tour, McCreery has been performing several songs from the new album in concert. “You never know how new songs are going to go over in the live show, but our audiences sure seem to enjoy them from the reaction we’re receiving,” said the North Carolina native. He’s also been direct support on select tour dates with Old Dominion.

Track list for Same Truck:

1. Same Truck (Scotty McCreery, Ashley Gorley, Taylor Phillips, Zach Crowell)
2. You Time (Scotty McCreery, Frank Rogers, Aaron Eshuis)
3. It Matters To Her (Scotty McCreery, Rhett Akins, Lee Thomas Miller)
4. Damn Strait (Trent Tomlinson, Jim Collins)
5. It’ll Grow On Ya (Jeremy Bussey, Jason Blaine, Taylor Phillips, Adam Wood)
6. The Waiter (Scotty McCreery, Matthew West, Frank Rogers)
7. Why You Gotta Be Like That (Scotty McCreery, Jordan Schmidt, James McNair)
8. Home (Scotty McCreery, Frank Rogers, Brent Anderson, Tammi Kidd)
9. Carolina To Me (Scotty McCreery, Jeremy Bussey, Taylor Phillips)
10. Small Town Girl (Scotty McCreery, Ashley Gorley, Zach Crowell)
11. That Kind of Fire (Scotty McCreery, Josh Hoge, Matt McVaney, Justin Wilson)
12. How Ya Doin’ Up There (Scotty McCreery, Monty Criswell, Derek George, Tyler Reeve)

McCreery achieved new heights by earning three back-to-back No. 1 hits from his most recent album Seasons Change, the RIAA Gold-certified project which debuted at No. 1 on the Billboard Country Album chart: the RIAA Double Platinum-certified “Five More Minutes,” the RIAA Platinum-certified “This Is It,” which stayed at the top of the charts for two weeks, and RIAA Gold-certified “In Between.” McCreery co-wrote all 11 songs on Seasons Change, which Rolling Stone named as one of the “40 Best Country and Americana Albums of 2018.” His current Top 5 and rising single “You Time,” upcoming single “Damn Strait,” “Why You Gotta Be Like That,” “Carolina To Me” and the title track from the forthcoming follow-up Same Truck are available everywhere now. Same Truck, McCreery’s fifth studio album, is set for release Friday, Sept. 17 and available for pre-order now. All four of his albums have debuted at No. 1 on a Billboard Albums chart, with current combined sales surpassing 3 million copies. He’s earned one Double Platinum, four Platinum and two Gold singles; won the 10th season of “American Idol” in 2011; was named the ACM New Artist of the Year in 2011; won the CMT Music Award for Breakthrough Video of the Year (“The Trouble with Girls”) in 2012; American Country Awards for New Artist of the Year in 2011 and Breakthrough Artist of the Year in 2013; BMI Awards for writing One of the Top 50 Country Songs of the Year three times (in 2015 for “See You Tonight,” in 2018 for “Five More Minutes,” and in 2019 for “This is It”); a Carolina Beach Music Award for National Dance Song of the Year (“Barefootin’”) in 2018; and the NSAI Nashville Songwriter Award for One of the Top Ten Songs I Wish I’d Written (“Five More Minutes”) in 2018. The North Carolina native released his first book, Go Big or Go Home: The Journey Toward the Dream, in 2016; it was re-released in paperback in 2020. McCreery launched his recording career by making history in 2011 as both the first country artist and the youngest male artist of any genre to debut his first studio album, the Platinum-certified Clear as Day, at No. 1 on the all-genre Billboard Top 200 Albums chart. | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter | YouTube