Canadian progressive metal band EARTH’S YELLOW SUN will release their new single on April 19 2018. The track is a cover of a song that was originally done by jazz pianist Tigran Hamasyan. The song will be released on all streaming platforms and a video of the song will be released as well.

The band commented “Tigran Hamasyan’s ‘Entertain Me’ was a song that we loved the first time we heard it. Even played by just a piano trio, it’s so heavy! Very Meshuggah-esque, in the way that it’s in 4/4, with an odd time signature ostinato repeating underneath. When we were figuring out which songs we wanted to cover, this song was on the top of the list. We also stayed very faithful to the original on this one.”

You can listen to the rest of the band’s discography on Bandcamp here:

About Earth’s Yellow Sun:

Earth’s Yellow Sun is an instrumental progressive metal band hailing from Toronto, Canada with an innovative and unique approach to modern progressive music. In mid-January, they released their a music video for their cover of Rush’s “Overture 2112/The Temples of Syrinx”, featuring Rody Walker of Protest the Hero on vocals. The band’s sophomore original release, The Infernal Machine, is a concept record that tells the story of a futuristic society’s dependence on technology, and the ensuing conflict between human and machine. The creation of this EP pushed EYS into more experimental territory, incorporating unconventional instrumentation such as horns, violin, choir, and tabla into their sound. The Infernal Machine was released in the summer of 2015, and the band has been impressing audiences with their live show ever since.
The band’s lineup consists of Josh Hanff on guitar, Duncan Stan on bass, Julien Bigras on drums, Giovanni Campanelli on keyboards, with Murray Heaton, and Brian Dhari as the sax section. Since their live debut in late 2015, Earth’s Yellow Sun has been fortunate enough to share the stage with some notable acts, including: Between the Buried and Me, Protest the Hero, Intervals, Intronaut, Thank You Scientist, Plini, Auras, and Moon Tooth. In 2017, Earth’s Yellow Sun recorded a trio of cover songs, and over the first half of 2018, they will be releasing an accompanying music video for each one. Their Rush cover was the first of the three. They are also currently writing new material which will appear on the next record in late 2018 or early 2019.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: