WOES reveal new video FANCY

Debut album AWFUL TRUTH,
due 28th June on UNFD

Catch the band on their UK headline tour in June
& support to TRASH BOAT in September

28th May 2019
Fancy is the new single from Scottish four-piece Woes, which drops today. It’s the third single from their hotly-anticipated debut album Awful Truth – out 28th June on UNFD.

Fancy is a song about when you’re first getting to know someone and you’re into them, but you have to do a bit of work to convince them to take a chance on you”, explains vocalist DJ, “It’s a fun, upbeat song about a feeling everyone can understand, It’s one of the most fun, accessible songs on the record, but there’s a TON of musicality going on underneath, there are some great riffs, there’s an insane bass line hiding in the first verse, some big fills. But everything contributes to making an upbeat song that you could jump around to at a festival, I love it

Fancy follows previous singles Money Shoe and Suburbs, which saw support from BBC Radio 1 Rock Show, Kerrang! Radio and Amazing Radio.

Woesforthcoming debut album sees Woes’ sound take flight, blurring the lines between pop punk, hip hop and R&B.I think it’s the most honest and complete representation of what we want to sound like”, explains DJ.It has elements of pop-punk, hip-hop, prog-metal, RnB and flows between them super naturally. We approached with a perspective that matches up more closely with what you would expect from a rapper, rather than a pop-punk band, which gave us some real stand-out lyrics to go along with the music”.

The record is produced by Seb Barlow (Neck Deep, WSTR, Roam) and debuts the addition of guitarist Luke Bovill to the band.

Awful Truth is a record about the realities of the progression of our band over the last 18 months”, says DJ, “Going from some guys occasionally playing gigs and trying to practice every week. to playing a sold out show at Brixton, having people turned away from our Slam Dunk sets because they were full, touring the UK and Europe 5 times in a year.

And it’s about the duality of that experience. So, on the one hand, we’re doing all these insane things, seeing all of our hard work start to pay off, meeting all these people that love our music. But on the other hand, we’re broke, it’s taking a huge toll on our relationships back home, having to take huge periods of time off work unpaid… Luke had to quit his job at one point, no savings, no real backup plan. And the record talks about both sides of the coin, we were lucky in a sense that we were writing and recording at the same time – it’s a real look into making your first record. The stress, the pressure, but then the moments of accomplishment that make it worthwhile

Track listing
1. Boy
2. Fake Friends
3. Fancy
4. Money Shoe
5. Awful Truth
6. Suburbs
7. Mess
8. Cross
9. Gone Forever
10. Ugly
Awful Truth follows last year’s acclaimed Self Help EP, which launched the four-piece into the eye of rock press (KKKK – Kerrang!, ‘Bold’ – Rock Sound, 9/10 – Discovered) and landed a hefty touring schedule; highlights include support to Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes, State Champs, Seaway, 2000 Trees, Download and Slam Dunk.

Armed with new music, Woes are raring to hit the road again following their recent support to Millencolin in Europe. Catch them on their UK headline run in June and support to Trash Boat in the UK this September.

Woes became a fully fledged proposition in 2016, growing from Edinburgh’s burgeoning music scene. Signing to UNFD, the band released Self Help in 2018 and garnered support from the likes of Kerrang!, Rock Sound, BBC Radio 1 Rock Show, Kerrang! Radio and Upset.

Woes are more than just a one trick pony, taking pop punk to new heights by embracing their love of pop, hip hop and R&B, and using elements from these genres in their sound. There is definitely a conscious effort to start expanding our sound, to bring in different instruments and elements that we haven’t used before,” says DJ, “We love loads of modern hip-hop and RnB, which is something we plan to explore more in 2019. We also like incorporating math-rock and prog chords and progressions into our instrumentals… But we still want that pop punk energy live”.

Woes are anything but unpredictable. Watch this space for further news.

Headline tour
28 Jun –  Glasgow Attic (UK)
29 Jun – Newcastle Head Of Steam (UK)
30 Jun – Nottingham Bodega (UK)
1 Jul – Bristol Exchange (UK)
2 Jul – Worcester Marrs Bar (UK)
3 July – Bournemouth Anvil (UK)
4 July – Milton Keynes Craufurd Arms (UK)
6 July – Liverpool Zanzibar (UK)
suppporting Trash Boat 
12 Sep – Birmingham O2 Institute (UK
13 Sep – London Islington Academy (UK)
14 Sep – Leeds Stylus (UK)
15 Sep – Glasgow G2 (UK)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: