Witherfall // Curse of Autumn // Album Review


The Los Angeles based Dark Melodic Heavy Metallers have returned, two years after their second full-length release A Prelude to Sorrow received high praise. Although they released EP Vintage between then and now, the band continue to be creative and push the boundaries.

The band have spent the last two years writing music and now is the time to hear what the result is and I hope you are prepared for what is about to come.

Following an elaborate intro, the guitars begin to slash and chop some serious riffage as the drums crash as the vocal sings and sours as this Melodic journey begins to pave the way for what is coming over the 11 tracks and near hour-long escape. The high pitched vocal takes off as the guitars continue to create face-melting solos as it appears to frolic with the drum at times as they race ahead tease each other.

The theatrical sound continues to portray very clear images as the band push forward with their tracks that many of which are around anger and sceptics, plus how we deal with these things trying to manage anxiety and upset. These emotions are felt through the music, whether it be the deep aggressive bass, beating heartbeat of a drum, fast-paced and sporadic guitar or powerful vocal. There is something that everyone will relate to and this is where music becomes so much more than just something to listen to

As you continue through the album, you find yourself immersed in a fantasy land whereby everything that is thrown at you is dealt with, using whatever power your mind creates. This will be a very personalised experience, however, you feel hope and empowered to seize the day. You can handle anything that is thrown at you.

Such an expressive album is always welcome, however, when you throw in what a shit show the world has become, everyone needs an escape, which Witherfall have provided.

This album will be so special for so many people and gives strength and hope for the future as you allow the album to whisk you away to the place where your brain goes for sanctuary. However, when you return from that well-earned re-energise that Curse of Autumn gives you, you will feel like you can take on the world.


Ed Ford


Curse of Autumn will be released on March 5th 2021 via Century Media.



WITHERFALL “Curse of Autumn” (56:20):

  1. Deliver Us Into The Arms Of Eternal Silence (00:50)
  2. The Last Scar (04:56)
  3. As I Lie Awake (05:33)
  4. Another Face (05:34)
  5. Tempest (08:17)
  6. Curse Of Autumn (01:26)
  7. The Unyielding Grip Of Each Passing Day (02:44)
  8. The Other Side Of Fear (04:38)
  9. The River (03:11)
  10. … And They All Blew Away (15:24)
  11. Long Time (Acoustic Version) (03:35)









Witherfall // Curse of Autumn // Album Review
%d bloggers like this: