The track appears on the artist’s forthcoming album Hostages, out October 29 via Isolation Records. 

“an avantgardistic sound and creative approach” – Destroy//Exist

As he prepares for the release of his uncompromising new album Hostages, UK-based artist TEETHGRYNDER has released the album’s third single via a chillingly curious new music video.  The song – “Devilman” – features TEETHGRYNDER aka Jay Thurley, joined by guest Rob Vaughan (Bossk) on guitar and synths.  At times dirge-like and bleak, with sonically assaultive percussion, the track is propulsive and compelling.

Watch TEETHGRYNDER’s “Devilman” music video on BrooklynVegan (or share directly from YouTube). 

TEETHGRYNDER is the solo project from visual artist and multi-instrumentalist Jay Thurley. Walking out into the daylight for his fourth album, set for release on October 29th via Isolation Records, Jay continues to peel away his outer layers and reveal the new, while stepping forward into new territories. Hostages is climbing the cold mountain, getting hit by the sweltering sun, and the journey beyond.

Lyrically, the album deals with themes of deterioration, Thurley’s journey continuing to dredge us into parts of ourselves we try to suppress, staggering through a world falling into turmoil in pursuit of a religious enlightenment, conflicted with the songwriter’s sickly black sense of humour, stoic as it is unyielding.

Sonically, a foundation of blues, Young Widows-style noise rock, cinematic movements, spoken word poetry, chaotic swathes of saxophone and electronics. Brought forward here are jangling guitars, pounding drums, amative strings and Leonard Cohen-like vocals both venomous and drunkenly rambling at a seedy bar in a Blade Runner dystopia – TEETHGRYNDER once again using juxtaposition to deliver a journey both hellbound and enlightened, challenging and contemplative.

Written and recorded at the end of 2019, TEETHGRYNDER delivers his most sophisticated record yet, featuring Jaye Jayle‘s Evan Patterson and Daughters‘ Alexis Marshall, both of whom have worked with Jay previously. Other contributing musicians include Bossk guitarist Robert Vaughan, Visual artist and long-term collaborator Richey Beckett, Filth Is Eternal vocalist Lisa Mungo, Fall of Efrafa‘s Neil Kingsbury and among others, maybe even David Yow of The Jesus Lizard.

Pre-order Hostages here and revisit music videos for previously released singles “Not Lonely (feat. Jaye Jayle)” and “Casey Rowe’s Ghost.”

Hostages cover art:

Hostages, track listing:

1. Devilman

2.  Casey Rowe’s Ghost

3.  Zeal, the Assassin

4.  Not Lonely (ft. Jaye Jale)

5.  Vanity, the Fool

6.  Votive Signs (ft. Alexis Marshall)

7.  Beans

8.  Stare at the Ground

Digital Bonus Tracks:

The Seer

Barisal Guns

Surface Dweller


Cyclopes (Ft. Lisa Mungo of Filth Is Eternal)

Top photo by: Ross Fraser McLean.

%d bloggers like this: