Wade MacNeil (Alexisonfire) Scores “Random Acts of Violence” Horror Film, Out This Friday!

On Friday, October 30th the original score for the Jay Baruchel-directed horror film Random Acts of Violence by Wade MacNeil (Alexisonfire, Gallows) and Andrew “Ango” Macpherson (Dark Side of the Ring, Goon: Last of the Enforcers) will be released via Dine Alone Records.

For the film MacNeil and Macpherson have created an ominous yet understated and unsettling style of electronica. Characterized by its atmospheric soundscapes and a pulsating, hypnotic edge, the score perfectly echoes the themes depicted in an uncompromising, visually stunning film. Listen to “The Slasherman Theme Song” here.

MacNeil explains, “When you’re scoring a film, you are creating a soundtrack for a world that doesn’t exist… Making music to frighten people is such a unique way to spend your time in a studio. I love it.”

  • Wade MacNeil is most notably known as the founder and guitarist of Alexisonfire. He also serves as frontman of renowned punk band Gallows.
  • Andrew Macpherson is a producer, composer, and filmmaker. He has produced music for the likes of Jacques Greene, Machinedrum, Tommy Genesis, Cadence Weapon, Jesse Boykins III, Lunice, Katy B, Syv de Blare, and many more.
  • Both artists previously lent their talents for the video games Far Cry Starlink: Battle for Atlas, Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six: Siege, and the horror film The Ranger.
  • Based on the graphic novel by Justin Gray and Jimmy Palmiotti, Random Acts of Violence is an elevated slasher horror that will easily become a cult favorite.
  • The film explores the idea of legitimizing cruelty and the fact that monsters are not merely monsters — they are broken people.
  • RIYL soundtracks for Stranger Things, The Social Network, Watchmen, Bird Box

%d bloggers like this: