***Legendary US Melodic Power Metal Band’s New ‘Celebration Decay’ Studio Album Released August 21st On Steamhammer/SPV***

Seminal US Bay Area melodic power metal band Vicious Rumors are set to unleash their searing new studio album ‘Celebration Decay’ on August 21st as a Digi-Pak CD, double gatefold red vinyl LP with printed inner sleeves, download and stream. The follow-up to 2016’s highly acclaimed ‘Concussion Protocol’ offering, ‘Celebration Decay’, Vicious Rumors’ thirteenth studio album, is a yet more accomplished successor which packs an even harder musical punch.

Vicious Rumors mastermind Geoff Thorpe, long-standing drummer Larry Howe, new vocalist Nick Courtney plus new Guitarist Gunnar Dügrey had only planned twenty concerts to celebrate the 30thanniversary of their 1988 classic ‘Digital Dictator’ when they set off on tour in 2018. “The reactions were so enthusiastic that the twenty shows turned into an amazing 108 gigs in the end,” remembersThorpe, still a little awed. “We really hadn’t expected that. On the one hand the new Vicious Rumors studio line-up had an opportunity to grow into a really tight unit during that long tour, which is one of the reasons why ‘Celebration Decay’ sounds as dynamic and vibrant as any other of our best recordings in our long career. On the other hand the ‘Digital Dictator’ shows ensured that we came into contact with our early influences again and again. Both factors together have resulted in an album that sounds like typical Vicious Rumors and oozes lots of energy and momentum. I must admit, I couldn’t be prouder.”

Nick and Gunnar more than passed their baptism of fire with distinction during the ‘Digital Dictator’ tour; “Nick delivered some awesome performances during the gigs and was celebrated by our fans. Gunnar is a real virtuoso. I enlisted him as an 18-year-old, straight out of high school. Today he’s 21 and already an absolute world-class musician. Vicious Rumors now has a guitar team on caliber with the times of the legendary Mark McGee.” (Thorpe).

Greg Christian (Testament, Trauma) contributed as special guest; “Greg is a longtime friend, it was a pleasure to work with him. He really contributed to a thundering rhythm section with Larry.” Guitarist Cody Green, who contributed two haunting solos on ‘Long Way Home’ and ‘Any Last Words’, also deserves a mention. Green also helped out on bass during the tour. Thorpe: “Cody will always be part of the Vicious Rumors family. Robin Utbult from Sweden will be handling the bass on the Celebration Decay tour.”

‘Celebration Decay’ is a kind of best-of-both-worlds recording; Geoff beams: “There are classic Vicious Rumors numbers such as ‘Pulse Of The Dead’, ‘Arrival Of Desolation’, ‘Death Eternal’ and ‘Collision Course Disaster’. And then there’s a song like ‘Darkness Devine’ with a structure that’s very unusual for us and hints at this band’s future. ‘Celebration Decay’ kicks off with the title song, which is not only incredibly fast and hard, along with its aggressiveness it also features fantastic vocals and great harmony guitars. In combination with the amazing energy that all musicians involved brought to the studio, ‘Celebration Decay’ is the perfect opener for our new album.”

The first single ‘Death Eternal’ (including video) will see the light of day on 3 July 2020, followed by the second single ‘Pulse Of The Dead’ on 7 August 2020. Thorpe: “Look for a three part mini documentary of the making of ‘Celebration Decay’. The first episode airs 26 June.” The album was recorded and mixed between November 2019 and February 2020 at the Trident Studios in Pacheco, California, by Geoff Thorpe and Juan Urteaga. “There’s no other Vicious Rumors release that I worked as hard on as I did on ‘Celebration Decay’,” states Thorpe. “After all, when you get the opportunity to bring out a new album, you really have to give it your best shot. Of course that’s what I did with all other Vicious Rumors cuts, but with a perfectly oiled metal machine like our current line-up, it was even more fun than usual.”

VICIOUS RUMORS “Celebration Decay”

Release Date:         August 21st, 2020
Format:                   – CD Digi Pak
– 2LP Gatefold, 140 g, printed inner sleeves, red vinyl

01. Celebration Decay 4:31
02. Pulse Of The Dead 04:08
03. Arrival Of Desolation 5:42
04. Any Last Words 3:34
05. Asylum Of Blood 04:11
06. Darkness Divine 04:49
07. Long Way Home 03:48
08. Cold Blooded 04:23
09. Death Eternal 03:44
10.Collision Course Disaster 03:31
11. Masquerade Of Good Intentions 04:48

Current Line-Up:
Nick Courtney – vocals
Geoff Thorpe – guitars
Gunnar Dügrey – guitars
Robin Utbult – bass
Larry Howe – drums


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: