US atmospheric death/doom metal band Chalice of Suffering have been wowing audiences around the world with their latest full length. It’s emotionally-charged, bleak enough for this season, and there’s not a shred of insincerity. Mosh Pit Nation got around to premiering an epic track from the album AT THIS LINK.

“Chalice of Suffering suffer no sophomore slump on Lost Eternally. The band has their finger on the pulse of emotional devastation and they lay it at your feet note by note, moment by moment.”

– “maximum winter melancholy” – Metal Injection (US)

– “top of the list” – Planet Mosh (UK) 4/5

– “Fantastic!” – Nattskog (UK) 8/10

– “Amazing” – Dioses Del Metal (Spain)

– “a great atmosphere” – Broken Tomb (Spain) 8/10

– “monolithical” – Metal Addicts (US)

– “an outstanding piece of Doom Death” – Musik Reviews (Germany)

– “Slow death” – The Obelisk (US)

– “I cannot do anything else than just praise it” – Deadly Storm (Czech Republic)

– “Highly recommended” – Metal Temple (Greece) 8/10

– “something that’s both beautiful and potent” – Headbanger Reviews (US)

– “ponderous” – Mosh Pit Nation (US)

– “full of feelings, melancholy and passion” – RTMB (Mexico) 8/10

– “devastating” – Metal Mead Metal (US)

– “sinister sound” – Musipedia of Metal (US) 8/10

– “epic” – GBHBL (UK) 7.5/10

– “A big step forward” – VM Underground (Netherlands)

CHALICE OF SUFFERING (US) – ‘Lost Eternally’ (April 19th, 2018)

Genre – Atmospheric Doom/Death Metal
Release Date – April 19th, 2018
Record Label – Transcending Obscurity Records
For fans of – Evoken, Illimitable Dolor, Mournful Congregation, Slow, Evoken, The Slow Death,  Towards Atlantis Lights

US band Chalice of Suffering put out a remarkable debut that was very well received the world over and they’ve followed it up with what’s possibly one of the best albums in the doom/death metal style. Where this kind of style goes, it’s more about the emotions than the heaviness, and that’s where this band excels. ‘Lost Eternally’ perfectly encapsulates the grief, the stinging loneliness and its bleak outlook. It’s a well-rounded album that exudes the right feelings and it’s something that’s perfect for this time of the year, while being strangely palpable. The album plods on powerfully despite the weight, showing moments of melodic respite and even contributions from several guest musicians and vocalists to further enhance the proceedings. This is as genuine as it gets right from the underground. Delve into this heart-wrenching slab of doleful, atmospheric death/doom metal music and experience life at its cruelest.

Band lineup – 
John McGovern – Vocals
Will Maravelas – Guitars/Keyboards
Aaron Lanik – Drums
Nikoley Velev – Guitars/Keys/Drums (on The Hurt, Lost Eternally, Emancipation of Pain)
Neal Pruett – Bass
Kevin Murphy – Bagpipes (on In the Mist of Once Was)

Guest vocals –
Danny Woe of Woebegone Obscured (on Emancipation of Pain)
Demonstealer of Demonic Resurrection (on Miss Me, But Let Me Go with John)
Giovanni Antonio Vigliotti of Somnent (on Lost Eternally with John)
Justin Buller of Wolvenguard/In Oblivion (on The Hurt)

Artwork by Ohrwurm (Slow)

Track listing – 
1. In the Mist of Once Was
2. Emancipation of Pain
3. Forever Winter
4. Lost Eternally
5. The Hurt
6. Miss Me, But Let Me Go
7. Whispers of Madness

Chalice of Suffering Bandcamp

Transcending Obscurity Site

Transcending Obscurity US Store

Transcending Obscurity Europe Store

Transcending Obscurity Official YouTube Channel

Transcending Obscurity Records Facebook

Chalice of Suffering Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: