US Country Artist SAM OUTLAW Catches Up With Rock ‘N’ Load To Talk “Popular Mechanics” & Upcoming UK Tour

Following the digital release of Tennessee-based singer/songwriter Sam Outlaw’s ambitious third full-length album Popular Mechanics at the end of 2021, the release will be available on CD in the UK on March 4th 2022, to coincide with his forthcoming European tour across Sweden, Norway, The Netherlands, and the UK (limited tickets remaining – full dates here), with a vinyl LP to follow in April.

Solely writing seven of the album’s 11 tracks, the California-raised artist fuses the sounds of his favourite artists of the ‘80s – Kenny Loggins, Cyndi Lauper, Tom Petty – with stories influenced by the great innovators of the 20th century and the engineers that make up his own family tree.

Following the early success of his country-leaning albums, Angeleno (2015) and Tenderheart (2017), which led to features from NPR, The New Yorker, Wall Street Journal and more, Popular Mechanics marks a deliberate shift into new territory for Sam, who spent the last two years exploring his sound and revisiting material he had initially shelved in early 2018.

We caught up with Sam just days before he takes off for his 9 date whistle-stop tour of the UK.


1. Here On a Mission

2. Popular Mechanics

3. Half a World Away

4. For The Rest of Our Lives

5. Sun Ain’t Set

6. Polyamorous


7. Stay The Night

8. Bad Enough

9. Language of Love

10. Daydreaming

11. When You Feel It

Produced, engineered, and recorded by Cheyenne Medders in Nashville, TN (Tracks 1, 6, 7, produced by Kelly Winrich with additional production by Cheyenne Medders)

All songs written and performed by Sam Outlaw, except:
Tracks 2 and 10 written by Sam Outlaw and Cheyenne Medders
Track 4 written by Sam Outlaw and Steven Fiore
Track 11 written by Sam Outlaw and Sean Van Vleet

℗ 2021 Black Hills Recordings

Approaching the project with vinyl in mind, the first six songs (Side A) transport listeners to the musical bombast of Sunset Avenue in the mid-80s: fretless bass, synthesizers, drum machines and stacked vocals, including the lead radio single ‘Polyamorous’ – a song inspired by the true story love triangle that created Wonder Woman in the 1940s.

Side B, on the other hand, features more of the Americana-inspired musical aspects that fans have grown to love from Outlaw over the years, while leaning further into the rock arena with the power ballads, flourishing strings and layered guitars.

“Up until now, the music I’ve made really only shows one side of myself, but I put my whole heart on the line with ‘Popular Mechanics,'” Outlaw explains. “I hope listeners will approach this album with open minds because creative expression is, after all, the shared celebration of the creative spirit that lives inside every one of us.”

Popular Mechanics will be released on CD on March 4th 2022, with a vinyl release to follow in April. Sam Outlaw tours the UK & Europe throughout March – tickets on sale now.

Sam Outlaw is a singer-songwriter living in Nashville, TN. Born Samuel Morgan in South Dakota, he chose to perform with the Outlaw name from his mother’s side of the family, and continues to use it to honour her.

After leaving a successful career in corporate advertising in 2015 to pursue music full time at the age of 33, Sam and his family moved from Los Angeles to Nashville three years later following the release of two acclaimed albums, Angeleno (2015) and Tenderheart (2017).

Produced by Ry Cooder and Joachim Cooder, Angeleno, described by NPR as an “instant classic,” introduced Sam as a distinctly assured voice in the Americana scene. Immediately resonating on both sides of the pond, the album charted at #4 in the UK and was named ‘International Album of the Year’ at the UK Americana Awards, while leading The Telegraph’s list of top country albums, who described Outlaw’s “wonderfully rich and mournful country voice.”

The self-produced follow-up, Tenderheart, gave the artist the opportunity to further evolve his “So Cal Country” sound by introducing more elements of mainstream pop music. Also a critical success, Tenderheart was widely heralded as one of the year’s best country albums, kicking off several years of touring, both in the US and internationally.

Having made his debut at the legendary Grand Ole Opry in 2019, where he has since become a regular performer, Sam has played at numerous festivals including Stagecoach, AmericanaFest, Tønder Festival in Denmark, and Cambridge Folk Festival, and was highlighted as one of the Artists You Need To See at SXSW by Rolling Stone.

Sam Outlaw’s new album Popular Mechanics was released in November 2021 to stream/download, with a physical release to follow in March 2022.

Official Site | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube

U.S. singer-songwriter Sam Outlaw has announced that Ruthie Collins will join him as the support act on his upcoming UK shows, starting Thursday 17th March in London.

Announcing the news exclusively on BBC Radio 2 yesterday (3/2), Bob Harris said: “This is a wonderful double bill… we love them both.”

With nine UK dates on the tour, Outlaw is celebrating the release of his ambitious third full-length album, the new wave-inspired Popular Mechanics, out now to stream/download, with a UK physical release to follow on March 4th 2022.

Ruthie Collins has received extensive airplay for her latest single ‘Hypocrite’, taken from her critically acclaimed album Cold Comfort +, released as an expanded edition in January, with over 2.5 million combined streams and video views for songs from the album to date.

Looking forward to sharing the stage with Ruthie, Sam said: “There’s so much talent in Nashville right now, but Ruthie Collins is a distinctly special voice and songwriter. I’ve always been blown away by the support from country fans in the UK and I know they’re going to flip when they hear Ruthie.”

Sam Outlaw tours the UK in March, with support from Ruthie Collins on all dates – tickets on sale now:

Thu., March 17, 2022 | Omeara | London, United Kingdom

Fri., March 18, 2022 | The Stables | Milton Keynes, United Kingdom

Sat., March 19, 2022 | Cryer Arts | Carshalton, United Kingdom

Tue., March 22, 2022 | Hen and Chicken Southville | Bristol, United Kingdom

Thu., March 24, 2022 | Jericho Tavern | Oxford, United Kingdom

Fri., March 25, 2022 | Mid Sussex Music Hall | Hassocks, United Kingdom

Sat., March 26, 2022 | Manchester Academy | Manchester, United Kingdom

Sun., March 27, 2022 | Oran Mor | Glasgow, United Kingdom

Mon., March 28, 2022 | Gosforth Civic Theatre | Gosforth, United Kingdom

Raised on a grape farm in Fredonia, New York, Ruthie Collins fell in love with music from an early age. She learned about the classical world from her mother, a pianist and organist, and the gospel world from church, where she sang in the choir, but it was the radio that first introduced her to the magic of pop and country, and she spent her formative teenage years enamoured with the stories and melodies that lit up the dial. After college, Collins spent five years writing songs and waiting tables in Nashville before landing a deal with Curb Records. Named to CMT’s prestigious “Next Women Of Country” series, Collins began turning heads almost immediately with a series of critically acclaimed releases and showstopping festival performances that prompted the LA Times to praise her “sunny demeanour” and Rolling Stone to rave that “Collins’ voice has the fluttery nuances more common in Seventies Laurel Canyon than in modern country.” Her latest album, ‘Cold Comfort’, a captivating blend of cinematic roots, intimate folk, and old-school country, is available everywhere.

Official Site | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter | YouTube | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter

%d bloggers like this: