The Wombats Announce Eight New Tour Dates Across The UK this August & October

the wombats photographed by tom oxley






Photo credit: Tom Oxley



“A polished and snappy fifth album” – The Guardian

“Pop ambition, indie ideals and sonic experimentation: it’s all here“- NME

“Matthew Murphy has a melodic gift that keeps giving” – The Sunday Times

The Wombats today announce eight new tour dates across the UK this August October. The new dates will see the three piece play headline shows in Edinburgh, Belfast, Dublin, Sheffield, Norwich, Nottingham, Birmingham and Manchester, in addition to their previously announced arena tour this April, which includes a landmark show at London’s The O2 on 15th April. The news follows the release of their fifth studio album Fix Yourself, Not The World in January, which topped the UK albums chart, making it their debut number one album.

Recording remotely from their respective homes, the band worked hard to produce some of the most captivating, inventive and forward-thinking music of their career to date. With frontman Matthew “Murph” Murphy in Los Angeles, bassist Tord Øverland Knudsen in Oslo and drummer Dan Haggis in London, they discussed each day’s plan via Zoom, then recorded separately, sending individual files to producers Jacknife Lee (U2, The Killers), Gabe Simon (Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey), Paul Meaney (Twenty One Pilots, Nothing But Thieves), Mark Crew (Bastille, Rag‘n’Bone Man) and Mike Crossey (The 1975, The War on Drugs, Yungblud) to mix into the finished tracks. “It was pure madness, to be honest,” explains Murph. See the eboy designed album artwork below.

“We’re so excited for people to hear this new album! We’ve explored new genres and pushed ourselves further than ever musically. It will always stand out for us in our memories from our other albums as we recorded it across three cities during lockdown, and we weren’t all in the same room at the same time!” says Dan Haggis.

Over 15 years into their career, The Wombats are pulling in bigger audiences than ever before. The viral success of Oliver Nelson’s remix of their 2015 hit ‘Greek Tragedy’ on TikTok has enraptured a whole new generation of fans, a feat they’ve managed to continually repeat since their 2007 debut A Guide To Love, Loss & Desperation. Used in over 600,000 videos (some of which have over 100 million views), the remix has rocketed to over 50 million streams, propelling the original to 140 million streams and sending it Gold in the US. It’s helped the band surpass 1.5 billion worldwide streams, also amassing an extra 2.5 million monthly listeners on Spotify in just 6 months; further illustration, if any were needed, of The Wombats’ ability to reach new generations of fans through the timeless power of their songwriting and lyrics alone.

Earlier this month the band dropped their first ever NFT experience, teaming up with leading Web3 Agency Kollectiff to release 3,000 unique carbon negative NFTs. Fans are able to purchase their own unique Metaverse-ready avatar that can be used in virtual gaming world The Sandbox, also gaining access to a Rubik’s Cube blockchain game that unlocks tons of exclusive utility including access to unheard B-sides, VIP tour tickets, super rare memorabilia, virtual meet & greets and tickets to a virtual concert in a purpose built stadium in the Metaverse. Fans are able to mint their NFT for £140 (0.07 eth) from The Wombats website.

With their biggest ever UK headline tour around the corner and Fix Yourself, Not The World being lauded by fans and critics alike, the most exciting chapter in the story of one of Britain’s most adored bands is well and truly underway.

Fix Yourself, Not The World tracklist:

1. Flip Me Upside Down

2. This Car Drives All By Itself

3. If You Ever Leave, I’m Coming With You

4. Ready For The High

5. Method to the Madness

6. People Don’t Change People, Time Does

7. Everything I Love Is Going To Die

8. Work Is Easy, Life Is Hard

9. Wildfire

10. Don’t Poke The Bear

11. Worry

12. Fix Yourself, Then The World (Reach Beyond Your Fingers)

UK Arena Tour Dates (new dates in bold):

14 April 2022 – First Direct Arena, Leeds – support from Sports Team and The Night Café

15 April 2022 – The O2, London – support from Sports Team and The Night Café

16 April 2022 – Motorpoint Arena, Cardiff – support from Sports Team and The Night Café

18 April 2022 – Barrowland Ballroom, Glasgow (SOLD OUT) – support from Sports Team

19 April 2022 – Barrowland Ballroom, Glasgow (SOLD OUT) – support from Sports Team

21 April 2022 – Mountford Hall, Liverpool (SOLD OUT) – support from The Night Café

22 April 2022 – Mountford Hall, Liverpool (SOLD OUT) – support from The Night Café

23 April 2022 – Mountford Hall, Liverpool (SOLD OUT) – support from The Night Café

26 May 2022 – Open Air Theatre, Scarborough

12 Aug 2022 – O2 Academy, Edinburgh

21 Aug 2022 – The Telegraph Building, Belfast

22 Aug 22 – Olympia Theatre, Dublin

21 Oct 2022 – O2 Academy, Sheffield

22 Oct 2022 – Rock City, Nottingham

23 Oct 2022 – O2 Academy, Birmingham

25 Oct 2022 – UEA (University of East Anglia), Norwich

Fri 28 Oct 2022 – O2 Victoria Warehouse, Manchester

Festival Dates:

16 July 2022 – Community Festival, London

24 July 2022 – Tramlines Festival, Sheffield

28-31 July 2022 – Kendal Calling

5 August 2022 – Newmarket Racecourse
14 August 2022 – Boardmasters, Cornwall

27 August 2022 – Victorious Festival, Portsmouth

Follow The Wombats:


%d bloggers like this: