THE RASMUS release Stranger Things inspired video for “Venomous Moon” feat. Apocalyptica





Photo Credit: Venla Shalin

Venomous Moon is the second single from The Rasmus’ upcoming album, recorded during the pandemic, with the band members being stranded in Hawaii, Helsinki and Sydney and with the producer Joshua in England. It is co-produced by Martin Hansen who has worked with The Rasmus on four albums, including their breakthrough single In the Shadows. Hansen has also worked with Apocalyptica before, who contribute their trademark intense cello riffs to the track. The Rasmus’ singer Lauri Ylönen and Apocalyptica have previously joined forces on the songs Bittersweet and Life Burns.

Listen to the track here:

“Venomous Moon is about isolation and being separated from the world, but I wrote it before the virus came along. I must have caught a glimpse of the future, which then added a whole new layer of melancholy to the song,” explains singer Lauri Ylönen.

From 15:30-16:00 BST today, there will be a live video premiere on YouTube, where the band will respond to questions that fans can ask in the live chat section. Right after, there will be the music video premiere at 16:00 BST.

“Venomous Moon” Video Premiere link:

The music video is directed by Vertti Virkajärvi and produced by No Office. Both bands perform in the video, which is inspired by the “Stranger Things” TV series and features spooky creatures stemming from the same deep forests as the Groke in the Moomin stories.

The Rasmus will embark on a World Tour in the fall of 2022.

Details about the upcoming album will be announced soon!


Mon 10 Germany Hamburg Markthalle
Tue 11 Germany Berlin Metropol
Wed 12 Poland Warsaw Proxima
Thu 13 Poland Krakow Kwadrat
Fri 14 Germany Leipzig Taubchental
Sat 15 Czech Rep. Prague Forum Karlin
Mon 17 Hungary Budapest BNMC
Tue 18 Austria Vienna Ottakringer Brauerei
Wed 19 Germany Munich Neue Theaterfabrik
Fri 21 Italy Milan Fabrique
Sat 22 Switzerland Bern Bierhubeli
Sun 23 France Paris La Maroquinerie
Mon 24 Luxembourg Esch-Sur-Alzette Rockhal
Tue 25 Germany Wiesbaden Schlachthof (Halfhouse)
Thu 27 Germany Cologne LMH
Fri 28 Holland Haarlem Patronaat
Sun 30 England Nottingham Rock City
Mon 31 England Manchester O2 Ritz
Tue 01 Scotland Glasgow Garage
Wed 02 England Bristol O2 Academy
Thu 03 England London                      O2 Forum Kentish Town
Sat 05 Ukraine Kiev Mc Hall
Sun 06 Ukraine Lviv Malevich Club
Mon 07 Ukraine Odessa Musical Comedy Theatre
Tue 08 Ukraine Dnipro Shynnic House Of Culture
Wed 09 Ukraine Kharekiv Mekhanika
Fri 11 Russia Moscow Stadium
Sat 12 Russia St Petersburg A2



The Rasmus were formed in 1995 while the members were still in high school. Their debut, Peep, rapidly went gold in their homeland Finland, making the members rock stars at the age of 16. The follow-up, Playboys, also went gold and earned the group an Emma, Finland’s version of a Grammy. Their third album, Hell of a Tester, included “Liquid,” a track that was voted Best Single of the Year by Finland’s music critics. 2001’s Into album went double platinum in their native country, with its debut single, “F-F-F-Falling,” hitting the top of the charts. An international audience started to build, and the band toured throughout Europe. Their fifth album Dead Letters, released in 2003, became the band’s biggest breakthrough yet, due in large part to the success of the single “In the Shadows”. 2005’s Hide from the Sun went platinum in Finland. Their fourth Finnish chart-topper, Black Roses, was released in 2008, produced by Desmond Child. After the release of compilation Best of The Rasmus: 2001-2009 and a 2011 solo LP from Lauri Ylönen titled New World, The Rasmus released their self-titled eighth album, The Rasmus in 2012. The band returned in 2017 with the album Dark Matters. The Rasmus are still one Europe’s most in demand rock acts. They have toured Scandinavia many times as well as Central Europe, Asia, Japan, Canada, USA and South America.

Albums: Peep (1996, Warner),
 Playboys (1997, Warner),
 Hell Of A Tester (1998, Warner), Into (2001, Playground),
 Dead Letters (2003, Playground),
 Hide From the Sun (2005, Playground), Black Roses (2008, Playground), The Rasmus (2012, Universal), Dark Matters (2017, Playground)

Lauri Ylönen – vocals
Eero Heinonen – bass
Pauli Rantasalmi – guitars
Aki Hakala – drums

THE RASMUS online:

%d bloggers like this: