Active since 2015, Sacremento, California-based progressive melodic death metal outfit The Odious Construct are a young band relatively speaking. Yet in their brief existence, they’ve moved at blinding speeds to continually refine their craft live and in the studio in order to reach the next level. After hashing out two single song demos in 2015, the band quickly released their well-received self-titled EP in July of 2016. Recently signed to The Artisan Era, Shrine of the Obscene will be The Odious Construct’s first effort on the label and is set for release on Friday, October 12th.

Throughout the five swift and deadly songs on Shrine of the Obscene, The Odious Construct carves out a path beyond the typical “complex for complexities sake” approach with a focus built upon catchy guitar melodies, straightforward brutality, and enhanced by orchestral flair to ensure the songs remain stuck in your head. The Odious Construct – Shrine of the Obscene will strongly appeal to fans of groups such as Alterbeast, The Black Dahlia Murder, Irreversible Mechanism, Virvum, and The Faceless.

Today the band partnered with Decibel Magazine to premiere “Vortex of Self”, the release’s second single to air thus far.

*You can listen to The Odious Construct – “Vortex of Self” HERE

*You can also listen to the prior single, The Odious Construct – “Shrine of the Obscene”  HERE

Decibel comments on today’s premiere of “Vortex of Self”
“The Odious Construct are looking to turn melodic death metal on its head if their new album Shrine of the Obscene is any indication. Take new offering “Vortex of Self” as an example: melodic death metal in the vein of The Black Dahlia Murder mixes with the blistering technicality of a modern technical band like Alterbeast without compromising the integrity of either sound.

Guitarists Wesley Yee and Ben Jackson dance around the fretboard with gusto, and The Odious Construct’s rhythm section (bassist Sam Datu and drummer KC Brand) function like a machine. Vocalist Casey Ryle tops it off with interesting vocal patterns. As demonstrated with “Vortex of Self,” everything The Odious Construct have written takes what the band did on their self-titled EP from two years ago and ups the ante. More guitar leads, more solos, more impressive musicianship.”

Pre-orders for Shrine of the Obscene are live

Shrine of the Obscene Tracklist
1. Vortex of Self
2. Descension
3. They Came Through the Mirrors
4. Cyanide Eyes
5. Shrine of the Obscene

The Odious Construct is:
Casey Ryle – vocals
Wesley Yee – guitar
Ben Jackson – guitar
Sam Datu – bass
KC Brand – drums (The Ritual Aura)

Social Media Links

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: