The Antlers Announce ‘Green to Gold’, First New Album In Seven Years – Listen To “Solstice” Now




Artwork by Zan Goodman

“A gentle, acoustic meditation, Silberman’s voice quietly mulling over twinkling and soothing instrumentation.” – Stereogum

“The warm, delicate track is hopefully the first of many.” – The A.V. Club on
“Wheels Roll Home”

“Silberman’s voice is the perfect vessel to make us feel that vanquishing all of
the weight of the past, especially as he sings of poignant images and moments. With all this pent up emotion dissipating in languorous tendrils of melody, and wreathed in gorgeous sax, “It Is What It Is” floats to a rich, regal – but still understated –
resolution.” – Beats Per Minute on “It Is What It Is”

Acclaimed indie act The Antlers are announcing the new album ‘Green to Gold’ today. Their first new record since 2014’s ‘Familiars’, ‘Green to Gold’ will be released on March 26 via ANTI-. Watch the new video for “Solstice” HERE. A continuation of the music videos from the 2020 singles “Wheels Roll Home” and “It Is What It Is”, this film is the third in a series of ten created for ‘Green to Gold’ in collaboration with directors Derrick Belcham and Emily Terndrup and world-renowned contemporary dancers Bobbi-Jene Smith and Or Schraiber.

“ “Solstice” is a flashback to the infinite days of peak childhood summer, innocent barefoot hikes, staying outside all afternoon and late into the evening, well past it being too dark to see,” lead singer and songwriter Peter Silberman explains. “But it’s remembered from the vantage of a present day that feels unbearably long rather than joyously endless. It’s an invocation of those simpler times, an attempt to conjure the lightness of youth, before life got so damn complicated.”

Perhaps what distinguishes ‘Green to Gold’ from the rest of The Antlers’ canon is its, well, sunniness. Conceived and written almost entirely in the morning hours, ‘Green to Gold’ is the band’s first new music in nearly seven years, and easily their most luminous to date. “I think this is the first album I’ve made that has no eeriness in it,” Silberman asserts. “I set out to make Sunday morning music.”

Unlike other Antlers albums, Silberman didn’t feel compelled to turn a human experience into a circuitous mythology. He chose a more direct approach: documenting two years in his life, without overthinking or obscuring what the songs were about. “Most of the songs on ‘Green to Gold’ are culled from conversations with my friends and my partner. It’s less ambiguous about who’s speaking and who’s listening,” says Silberman resolutely.

“I think the shift in tone is the result of getting older,” Silberman added. “It doesn’t make sense for me to try to tap into the same energy that I did ten or fifteen years ago, because I continue to grow as a person, as I’m sure our audience does too. Green to Gold is about this idea of gradual change,” he sums up. “People changing over time, struggling to accept change in those they love, and struggling to change themselves. And yet despite all our difficulty with this, nature somehow makes it look easy.”

Photo Credit: Shervin Lainez
L to R: Peter Silberman and Michael Lerner


Pre-Order ‘Green to Gold’

1. Strawflower
2. Wheels Roll Home
3. Solstice
4. Stubborn Man
5. Just One Sec
6. It Is What It Is
7. Volunteer
8. Green To Gold
9. Porchlight
10. Equinox
Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

%d bloggers like this: