Talking Violet pushes the boundaries of shoegaze with debut album Tell Your Friends You Love Them

Today, Ontario based alternative shoegaze quartet Talking Violet have shared their much anticipated new album Tell Your Friends You Love Them. The 11 track album is available as a limited edition 12” vinyl directly through the bands website, which you can find here. The release was recorded in Toronto at Chalet Studios (Rush) with production and mixing by 2021 Juno Award nominee Justin Meli (Dizzy, The Trews). Talking Violet has spent the last 3 years perfecting their ability to create music that transports the listener to a sonic dreamland. The Ontario quartet melds the best elements of shoegaze, grunge, alternative rock and dream-pop into a sound that is equal parts an homage to the greats of each genre and an original statement that highlights the bands mature approach to songwriting. Singles “Superego” and “Indigo” showed the bands range, oscillating between angular 90s’ alternative akin to The Smashing Pumpkins and lush soundscapes that might remind you of My Bloody Valentine. “Slowdance” and “Delusional” highlight the pop elements of the band along with vocalist Jill Goyeau’s sublime but powerful vocals.
The band has this to say about the release of their new album
“Really, it’s surreal that this record is finally out in the world. This has been like our secret baby since 2019, with everything that has happened between then and now, it is cathartic to be able to share its story with everyone at last. Tell Your Friends You Love Them is about our friends and ourselves. It reflects a lot on the experience of navigating a world of anxiety while trying to be respectful of others’ turmoils as well. It is a record that wants to be heard but also listen, a lot. We were trying to figure ourselves and each other out in much of the writing process.”
The band will be supporting their new album with several shows planned throughout the remainder of the year, with additional Canadian and USA dates planned for 2022. Vinyl and merch bundles are available through the bands website here.
Talking Violet is an alternative shoegaze group hailing from Windsor Ontario. Consisting of Jill Goyeau (vocals, guitar) Jay Turnbull (guitar, vocals), Nate Blackton (bass, vocals) and Jeremie Brousseau (drums), the band grew from their roots as a vibrant duo and blossomed into a full quartet in 2017. Ready to push the boundaries of their genre, the band has steadily been releasing singles and videos since their 2018 EP “Round Dreams”. Tell Your Friends You Love Them is the bands first full length offering.
Album Art
Tell Your Friends You Love Them Tracklist:
1. Gold
2. Indigo
3. Delusional
4. Caterpillar
5. December
6. Superego
7. Shakes
8. Bloom
9. Slowdance
10. Stay Home
11. Gold 2
10/09/21 – Oshawa, ON. at Biltmore Theatre
Photo: Elliot Hale
%d bloggers like this: