SVENGAHLI: Progressive Death Metal Project (Ft. Exist, WAIT members) Launch “Writing on the Wall” Ft. Obscura guitarist Rafael At No Clean Singing.
Nightmares Of Our Own Design out March 6th.
FFO: Meshuggah, Gorguts, Death, Ihsahn, Decapitated, Opeth, Portal, and King Crimson

Emerging progressive death metal project Svengahli recently announced the upcoming release of their debut effort, Nightmares Of Our Own Design. The EP will see release on Friday, March 6th. Born from the mind of Exist (Prosthetic Records) bassist Alex Weber, Svengahli aims to chart a unique course between all that progressive death metal and eccentric progressive metal has to offer when combined together.

Alex Weber comments on the origins of the material on Nightmares Of Our Design: “I had written these tunes with potentially using them for Exist in mind but they ended up turning out slightly different than what we’ve been musically doing. I had been considering starting my own project for quite some time but I didn’t fully decide to start the project until about a year ago.”

Notable guest musicians such as Exist guitarist Matt Rossa, WAIT guitarist Charlie Eron, and drum programming help from Anup Sastry lend their considerable talents throughout Nightmares Of Our Design. In addition, high-profile guest guitar spots from Obscura guitarist Rafael Trujillo and Gorguts/Dysrhythmia guitarist Kevin Hufnagel add another unique addition to the material.

Svengahli – Nightmares Of Our Own Design is strongly recommended for fans of groups that have inspired the project which includes Meshuggah, Gorguts, Death, Ihsahn, Olivier Messiaen, Scott Walker, Michael Formanek, Decapitated, Opeth, Elliott Smith, Portal, King Crimson, Bill Evans, The Beatles, The Claudia Quintet/John Hollenbeck, Thelonious Monk, and Tim Berne.

Svengahli partnered with No Clean Singing to premiere “Writing on the Wall”. The song features a stunning guest guitar solo from Obscura guitarist Rafael Trujillo.

*You can listen to Svengahli – “Writing on the Wall” HERE

No Clean Singing Comments On The Premiere of “Writing on the Wall” 
“At almost 10 minutes in length, it’s mercurial in its progressions and mesmerizing in its effect. It’s often adrenaline-fueled and aggressive, with a strong rhythmic push, heavyweight riffing, and fiery, savage growls unmistakably linking the music to death metal traditions. But the music is also richly layered, dynamic in its tempo, and rapidly changing in other ways as well, with the sound produced in a way that allows each instrumental contribution to stand out, no one of them dominating the others.”

Svengahli – Nightmares Of Our Own Design Pre-order Link

 Svengahli – Nightmares Of Our Own Design Track Listing
1. Writing On The Wall
2. Nightmares Of Our Own Design Part I: Echoes Of Prejudice
3. Nightmares Of Our Own Design Part II: Adrift
4. Nightmares Of Our Own Design Part III: Our Hate Ignited

Svengahli – Nightmares Of Our Own Design Line-Up
Alex Weber (Exist, Ex-Jeff Loomis) – Bass, Vocals, Drum Programming

Guest Musicians
Matt Rossa (Exist) – Guitars
Anup Sastry (Ex-Skyharbor, Ex- Jeff Loomis) – Drum Production, Drum Programming
Charlie Eron (WAIT) – Guitars, Synths

*Rafael Trujillo (Obscura) – Guest Solo on Writing On The Wall
*Kevin Hufnagel (Gorguts, Dysrhythmia) – Guest Solo on Nightmares II: Adrift

Social Media Links



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: