SUNSLEEPER release new single ‘Better Now’
from their forthcoming debut ‘You Can Miss Something & Still Want It Back’ – out July 12th

Last month Salt Lake City’s emo/rock band, Sunsleeper, shared details of their forthcoming album, You Can Miss Something & Not Want It Back due out July 12th via Rude Records. The album was produced/engineered by Nathan Hussey of All Get Out and centres around the theme of change with a tang of nostalgia. Throughout the writing of the record, the band drew from a 90’s indie influence to create a contemporary emo-rock vibe with a focus on structure and hooks.

Off the 10-track album, comes their brand new single and music video for ‘Better Now’ (watch here!). Lead vocalist, Jeffery Mudgett elaborates, “it’s easily one of the most upbeat sounding songs I’ve ever written, though lyrically it leans back towards our despondent comfort zone.” He continues, “This song again details the duality of my headspace. On one hand I’m feeling guilty about taking forever to propose to my wife, delaying our future with my financial and emotional baggage, etc., but on the other hand I know those things are minuscule in comparison to the happiness we bring to each other. I like to think this song too has a feeling of hopefulness to it as well.” 

SUNSLEEPER – ‘Better Now’ (Official Music Video)

The single follows the release of ‘No Cure’ (listen here), a song about how Mudgett felt after one of his musical influences was outed for sexual misconduct. It is about how he was left completely shaken since the formulation for Sunsleeper was influenced by this person and their band. The song is about him.

In addition the band released ‘Soften Up’ (listen here), which is about internalising feelings of disdain while presenting oneself as put together on the outside. Mudgett elaborates, “The video and song parallel each other. It describes how on the inside that is typically where the discomfort and anxiety lives, and while on the outside this is where we put up a front or a smile, like nothing is wrong.” This theme came at a time when change was evident in the lives of each member of the band. ‘Soften Up’ is the perfect depiction of what they were going through.

‘You Can Miss Something & Not Want It Back’
Track listing:
  1. Feel The Same
  2. Soften Up
  3. I Hope You’re Okay
  4. Souvenir
  5. No Cure
  6. Fading
  7. Casual Mistakes
  8. You Can’t Please Everyone
  9. Better Now
  10. Home

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: