SUM 41 release emotional new ballad
and music video for ‘Never There’

New album ‘Order In Decline’, out July 19th on Hopeless Records.

Sum 41 have released an emotionally charged ballad with Never There’. Dedicated to single parents everywhere, the song is a personal letter from lead singer Deryck Whibley. ‘Never There’ is one of the band’s heaviest songs to date, but in an entirely different way. This marks the third single from upcoming album Order In Decline, out July 19th. 
SUM 41 – ‘Never There’ (Official Music Video)
“I never wanted to write this song, it just kind of poured out of me”, said Whibley. “I tried to fight it at first but there was no stopping it.  I could tell I was writing about my dad, who I’ve never met and throughout my life it has always been a subject that I don’t really think about or care about. It has never really bothered me and when I started thinking about why it never bothered me, I realized it was because my mum was so great and I have such a loving relationship with her. She was so strong as a single mother for my whole life that I never needed to think about my dad.” 

‘Never There’ joins previously released singles ‘A Death In The Family‘ and ‘Out For Blood‘, the latter of which has earned the band a spot in the Top 20 of a Billboard airplay chart for the first time in over 14 years. The single has also been streamed over 3 Million times on Spotify, while the music video has been viewed over 2 Million times.

Armed with the most honest and intimate songs of his career, Whibley poured everything he had into the upcoming album. Producing, engineering, and mixing the album in his home studio, he pain-stakingly crafted and fine-tuned each song, highlighted by fast and full riffs, guitar solos from lead guitarist/backing vocalist Dave Brownsound, harmonious chords from guitarist Tom Thacker and the heavy, heart-thumping rhythm section of bassist/backing vocalist Cone McCaslin and drummer Frank Zummo.

Sum 41 are in the UK for four UK headline dates this month, around their previously announced summer European festival appearances. The band will play the following venues:

23: EXETER, Castle Session
24: LEICESTER, De Monfort Hall
25: GLASGOW, o2 Academy
26: MANCHESTER, o2 Victoria Warehouse

Order In Decline: Track Listing

1. Turning Away
2. Out For Blood
3. The New Sensation
4. A Death In The Family
5. Heads Will Roll
6. 45 (A Matter Of Time)
7. Never There
8. Eat You Alive
9. The People Vs…
10. Catching Fire

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: