Stoned Cold Country // Various Artists // Album Review


If you’re a fan of country and rock music, then Stoned Cold Country is going to be right up your street. Bringing together some of the biggest names on the Country Scene along with the greatest hits of The Rolling Stones comes something genius. Many country and rock artists are influenced by one another, and this album is a thank you to The Rolling Stones for providing 60 years of great music and influence.

Over 14 tracks, artists such as Zac Brown Band and Eric Church put their creative spin on some classic Stones songs. A couple of singles have already been released with Lainey Wilson performing “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” and Brothers Osbourne & The War and Treaty covering ‘Its Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It)”. These singles give you a good sense of what the rest of the album is about and if you think these are going to be straight covers then you’ll be disappointed (or not) with the songs. Each artist has put their unique twist onto the songs. With everything from “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” to “Paint It Black” being covered, there’s plenty to sing along with although it may take a moment to fall into the new tempos and rhythms. For example, ‘Miss You” covered by Jimmie Allen, easily becomes an upbeat country track while still honouring the original while Elvie Shane’s “Sympathy for the Devil” lifts and highlights all the key elements of what makes the original such a classic hit while adding his own unique stamp to the track. Every song fits perfectly into each artist’s own country styling and it’s easy to see why so many of these artists were influenced by The Rolling Stones.

Created as a love letter from Nashville to the Stones, I think it’s safe to say that they have completed this task and brought the love and passion for the band together in one amazing album. Whether you’re a fan of The Rolling Stones or Country, there is something for all fans on this album and it is a must-have collection of reworked greatest hits.


Review: Emmie Ellis


The Rolling Stones’ catalogue from country music’s biggest stars and produced by acclaimed Nashville-based producer Robert Deaton, the highly anticipated album Stoned Cold Country is set for release on 17th March, 2023 on BMG


Stream Here: Stoned Cold Country




Stoned Cold Country Tracklist:

  1. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction” – Ashley McBryde
  2. “Honky Tonk Women” – Brooks & Dunn
  3. “Dead Flowers” – Maren Morris
  4. “It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It)” – Brothers Osborne & The War And Treaty
  5. “Miss You” – Jimmie Allen
  6. “Tumbling Dice” – Elle King
  7. “Can’t You Hear Me Knocking” – Marcus King
  8. “Wild Horses” – Little Big Town
  9. “Paint It Black” – Zac Brown Band
  10. “You Can’t Always Get What You Want” – Lainey Wilson
  11. “Sympathy for the Devil” – Elvie Shane
  12. “Angie” – Steve Earle
  13. “Gimme Shelter” – Eric Church
  14. “Shine A Light” – Koe Wetzel