Steve Cropper Reveals Lyric Video For ‘The Go-Getter Is Gone’


Guitar Legend Steve Cropper
Reveals Official Lyric Video For ‘The Go-Getter Is Gone’
Taken From The Upcoming Album ‘Fire It Up,’
Calling It His First Proper Solo Album Since 1969

Released: 23rd April 2021 via Mascot Label Group / Provogue Records

“A rare solo album from the Memphis guitar great” MOJO

[Cropper] revisits that old R&B sound without sounding precious about it…he remains a formidable guitarist” Uncut

Thrilling to hear…Cropper is clearly back on the right track” Record Collector 4/5 

“Yes, The Colonel is back with a vengeance…and hits the spot with a reinvigorating blast of genuine Memphis swagger.” Shindig 
Pre-Order Here
Steve Cropper – The Go Getter Is Gone (Lyric Video)

On April 23rd, guitar legend Steve Cropper will release his new solo album ‘Fire It Up,’ on Provogue.  Today he has revealed the lyric video for ‘The Go Getter Is Gone.’ You can watch the video here

Talking about the title track, singer Roger C. Reale says,“I had the title and started the lyrics back when Jon and I were writing, before this project, actually. The song was originally more of a shuffle, but when I heard Crop’s track, especially the opening riff, those lyrics found a home, and with some tweaking, we had a song. The highlight on this track, for me, is Crop’s clarion call lead, which really answers the opening riff, and ties it all up.”

Cropper calls ‘Fire It Up,’ his first proper solo album since 1969, after decades of stardom in soul, blues, and rock and roll. “This album is different from everything out there now,” Cropper says, in reference to two vocals albums he released in the 80s – “I haven’t heard myself this way since the 60s.”

Cropper announced the album with the release of “Far Away,” a bouncing soul number that draws heavily from classic R&B, featuring Cropper’s signature guitar that’s always in service to the groove. “I’m a rhythm player,” Cropper explains, “I set the groove. I’m always listening to the singer and the rest of band.” You can watch the lyric video for ‘Far Away,’ here

A founding member of the Blues Brothers and one of Stax Records’ main producers, songwriters, and guitarists – as the guitarist in its house band, Booker T. and the M.G.’s –  Cropper reintroduced classic soul to unsuspecting audiences, with Rolling Stone ranking him in the top 40 all-time greatest guitarists. “Midnight Hour” by Wilson Pickett, “(Sittin’ On) The Dock of the Bay” by Otis Redding, “Soul Man” and “Hold On I’m Coming” by Sam and Dave — you simply can’t discuss soul music without Steve Cropper. He plays on John Lennon’s Rock N Roll album, Frank Black’s Honeycomb and Fast Man Raider Manalbums, and on several albums by Ringo Starr. He’s also produced for John Prine, Jeff Beck, and John Cougar Mellencamp.

But seven decades into his legendary career, Steve sees this record as different: “This is the first Steve Cropper album since 1969,” he says. “It’s made from old grooves, because during a lockdown, you work on stuff that’s been in your head for years.” Rooted in sessions with the Rascals’ Felix Cavaliere and produced with long-time collaborator Jon Tiven, Cropper is both guitarist and a producer on the album, a role he is most comfortable in after years on the scene. “To be a good producer, you’ve got to be able to hear a song finished in your head before there’s much of anything done,” he explains. “..a good production is not accidental. I’m really proud of things that I produce.”

Careful and selective about what he’ll put his name on, you won’t be surprised to find that ‘Fire It Up’ is an instant classic. From the classic R&B of the title-track, featuring vocalist Roger C. Reale, to the funk of “Bush Hog” and the quiet restraint of “One Good Turn,” the album may have Cropper’s name on it, but it’s still very much a collaborative effort, where solos and prowess are always in service to the larger rhythm. “This isn’t a battle of the bands,” he adds. “’s better to enhance the other guy, make him shine.”

In fact, listening to everyone else may be one of the secrets to Cropper’s style. The “Go Getter Is Gone” highlights the album’s collaborative effort. “Roger came up with most of the lyrics here,” he says. “I came up with the rhythms and the grooves and the changes, but I think teamwork is better.” And suddenly a light shines on why Cropper has pursued so few solo records: “When a basketball team wins,” he says, “it’s not the player who made the last three-pointer who wins, it’s the whole team that got him there.”

Steve Cropper – Fire It Up (Lyric Video)
Steve Cropper – Far Away (Lyric Video)
1. Bush Hog Part 1
2. Fire It Up
3. One Good Turn
4. I’m Not Havin’ It
5. Out of Love
6. Far Away
7. Say You Don’t Know Me
8. She’s So Fine
9. Two Wrongs
10. Heartbreak Street
11. The Go-Getter Is Gone
12. Bush Hog Part 2
13. Bush Hog
%d bloggers like this: