Spirit Adrift Reveal Epic New Song, “Mass Formation Psychosis”

Spirit Adrift Reveal Epic New Song, “Mass Formation Psychosis”

The track appears on 20 Centuries Gone— an 8 song collection featuring 2 new originals and 6 covers— out on August 19th. // Catch Spirit Adrift on tour in the USA with Crowbar in July + August.

Photo credit: Dave Creaney

“Spirit Adrift are still ready to take on the world” – SPIN

Spirit Adrift expand their prolific catalog with 20 Centuries Gone, a collection of two new original songs and six cover songs that span the timeline of the band’s most foundational influences. Featuring artwork by Brian Mercer (Lamb of God, High on Fire, Mastodon), and mixed by Zeuss (Overkill, Crowbar, Municipal Waste), this release is a powerful journey through the past, present, and future of trad-metal’s most exciting new band.

Available on August 19th via Century Media, 20 Centuries Gone sees Spirit Adrift put their trademark swagger on classics from Type O NegativePanteraMetallicaThin LizzyZZ Top and Lynyrd Skynyrd — check out the track listing below.

Today, Spirit Adrift have premiered the second of the original tracks— “Mass Formation Psychosis”— via lyric video.  The 6+ minute-long epic waxes and wanes like only Spirit Adrift can.

Spirit Adrift mastermind Nate Garrett comments:  “I always thought it would be a cool experience to record some songs by bands that are foundational to the DNA of Spirit Adrift. These choices are obvious and on the nose to me, but maybe unexpected to the fans.  That made the whole thing a lot of fun.  A band like Lynyrd Skynyrd might not be the first thing you think of when considering Spirit Adrift’s influences, so the task for me became figuring out how to honor these great songs, but in the distinct Spirit Adrift style.  To make the whole thing even more special, I channeled these influences and wrote a couple of new songs to kick things off.”

Spirit Adrift will tour in support of 20 Centuries Gone this July and August, on the road with Crowbar.  Pre-order 20 Centuries Gone here.

SPIRIT ADRIFT, on tour with Crowbar:

July 26  Springfield, MO @ Outland Ballroom

July 27  St. Louis, MO @ Red Flag

July 28  Racine, WI @ Route 20

July 29  Minneapolis, MN @ Cabooze

July 30  Chicago, IL @ Cobra Lounge

July 31  Ft. Wayne, IN @ Piere’s

August 2  Indianapolis, IN @ Emerson Theater

August 3  Columbus, OH @ King Of Cups

August 4  Rochester, NY @ Montage Music Hall

August 6  Poughkeepsie, NY @ The Chance Theater

August 9  Brooklyn, NY @ Saint Vitus

August 10  Atlantic City, NJ @ Anchor Rock Club

August 11  Reading, PA @ Reverb

August 12  Huntington, WV @ The Loud

August 13  Richmond, VA @ The Broadberry

August 14  Chapel Hill, NC @ Local 506

August 16  Jacksonville, FL @ Archetype

August 17  Miami, FL @ Gramps

August 18  Orlando, FL @ Will’s Pub

August 19  Ft. Walton Beach, FL @ Downtown Music Hall

August 20  Mobile, AL @ Soul Kitchen

August 21  Baton Rouge, LA @ Chelsea’s Live

August 23  Athens, GA @ 40 Watt

August 24  Virginia Beach, VA @ Elevation 27

August 26  Albany, NY @ Empire Underground

August 27  Worcester, MA @ Tattoo The Earth

Spirit Adrift‘s touring line-up is:

Nate Garrett – guitar & vocals

Tom Draper – guitar

Sonny DeCarlo – bass

Michael Arellano – drums

20 Centuries Gone, track listing:

1.  Sorcerer’s Fate

2.  Mass Formation Psychosis

3.  Everything Dies (Type O Negative)

4.  Hollow (Pantera)

5.  Escape (Metallica)

6.  Waiting for an Alibi (Thin Lizzy)

7.  Nasty Dogs and Funky Kings (ZZ Top)

8.  Poison Whiskey (Lynyrd Skynyrd)

20 Centuries Gonecover art:



%d bloggers like this: