Sparks physical album release and collaborative Cyriak music video

Sparks Team Up With Cyriak For Existential Threat Video

On the day their new album ‘A Steady Drip, Drip, Drip’ is released physically – on CD, vinyl and cassette – Sparks reveal the video for ‘The Existential Threat’.

Created by the animator Cyriak, known for his subversive and surreal work, the video will premiere on Friday July 3rd at 6pm BST on YouTube. Watch HERE.

“The incredibly manic and overwhelming nature of the existential threats that are facing all of us nowadays and our reaction to those threats, expressed musically and lyrically in our song ‘The Existential Threat’, are brilliantly demonstrated in the frightening and beautiful video for the song by Cyriak.” Ron and Russell Mael, Sparks

Speaking about the process Cyriak said “When I was asked to make a music video for Sparks I could hardly believe it. They sent me the whole of their new album to choose from, and there was this one song that immediately stood out – ‘The Existential Threat’. Not only did the music fit perfectly with my animation style, the subject of existential dread is something I have been fascinated by for as long as I can remember. It was like I could see the whole video inside my head as I listened to the song.” 

“The brief was totally open, but I felt this track deserved more than just some crazy visuals. It has a psychology driving it, and a feeling that hangs over us all, especially in these modern times of information overload. Are these threats real, or imaginary? Are they just a paranoid delusion, or do we ignore them at our peril? It was great fun making this video, and I hope it makes people think about their inevitable impending death in a more light-hearted way.”

‘A Steady Drip, Drip, Drip’ was released digitally on May 15th to universal acclaim. This extraordinary record is now also released on CD, vinyl and cassette – see HERE

“With A STEADY DRIP, DRIP, DRIP, Sparks have drawn on the many styles and many great moments in a multi-faceted career that began in their native Los Angeles in 1967, while retaining the unique identity. Whatever style they embrace, and they have embraced most – pop, rock, New Wave, synth-pop, disco, dance, electro, orchestral, opera – they always remain ineffably, irrefutably, inescapably, undeniably Sparks.” LouderThanWar

“No band should by rights sound as sharp, melodic and funny more than 50 years into their career. But Sparks are no ordinary band.” – Q

Sparks remain deftly untouchable” 9/10 LineofBestFit

“The Picassos of art rock.” Associated Press

a work of genius” 9/10 Clash

“A masterclass” Northern Transmissions

“They’ve done it again” ***** Record Collector

“Sparks. Only Sparks.” **** FT

Uncut 9/10 Mojo **** Q **** The Times **** Independent **** Daily Mirror **** Daily Telegraph ****

A Steady Drip, Drip, Drip tracklisting

01 All That

02 I’m Toast

03 Lawnmower

04 Sainthood Is Not In Your Future

05 Pacific Standard Time

06 Stravinsky’s Only Hit

07 Left Out In The Cold 08 Self-Effacing

09 One For The Ages

10 Onomato Pia

11 iPhone

12 The Existential Threat

13 Nothing Travel Faster Than The Speed Of Light

14 Please Don’t Fuck Up My World

This next year should also see the eagerly awaited premiere of the musical Annette, the first English-language film from groundbreaking French director Leos Carax (Holy Motors,Pola X), written by Ron and Russell Mael and starring Adam Driver and Marion Cotillard. In addition, director Edgar Wright (Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, Baby Driver) is putting the finishing touches to his as-yet-untitled Sparks documentary, a long-in-the-making feature-length film celebrating this singular band.

%d bloggers like this: