Slayer // The Repentless Killogy // Film Review
Slayer // The Repentless Killogy // Film Review 10
Slayer // The Repentless Killogy // Film Review 10
Slayer // The Repentless Killogy // Film Review 10
Slayer // The Repentless Killogy // Film Review 10
Slayer // The Repentless Killogy // Film Review 10
10Overall Score
Reader Rating: (0 Votes)

What can be said about Slayer that hasn’t been said already. Having seen both their final show in Birmingham in 2018 and also their final show in the UK at Download Festival 2019 (the biggest crowd I have ever seen at the second stage) I was eager to see what The Repentless Killogy had to offer as the final offering by the legendary band.

It is clear from the start that this is a crossover between movie-making and music as this three-part short (30minutes) revenge movie is soundtracked by Slayer, think along the lines of ‘Through the Never’ with added violence. Linking ‘You Against You’, ‘Repentless’ and ‘Pride in Prejudice’ as the focus character of the movie seeks revenge on the neo-Nazi group he used to belong. The cast is a strong one, involving the likes of Danny Trejo, Jason Trost and Derek Mears to name a few, this violent offering was written and directed by BJ McDonnell.

As the credits roll to the sounds of Slayer, fear not as this is by no mean the end of the offering on this special package, as we prepare ourselves for the blinding show from The Forum, Inglewood, in 2017. This is where the entertainment really starts, around the 40-minute mark.

Opening with ‘Delusions of Saviour’ as the logo is beamed onto the huge stage screen before it drops and the madness begins with ‘Repentless.’ If you weren’t at any of the farewell gigs, then this will show you exactly what you missed out on.

The footage covers both the magic on stage and the energy in the pit as a proper Slayer show should have as the legends churn out hit after hit before Tom even speaks to the crowd after track 6 ‘Hate Worldwide.’ It is clear that Slayer is on top form, to be fair the kind of form that I have only ever seen them in. We then head full bore into ‘When The Stillness Comes’ and things continue to hit the fast and furious levels.

Before you even blink, we are hearing ‘South of Heaven’, ’Raining Blood’ and closing with ‘Angel of Death, this 90 minute,21 track live offering is everything that will make Slayer be one of the most missed bands. Yes, their albums are amazing, however, there has always been something extremely special about seeing them live. The energy on stage, the flames and the unrivalled quality, I am pleased that I got to see them too many times live.

I was thinking about getting this on Blu-Ray before I was asked to review this package and now it will definitely be added to my collection. The movie will divide opinions however the live show certainly will not. It’s fantastic, it’s loud, it’s fast, its Thrash at its best, its SSSSSLLLLLLLLAAAAAYYYYYYEEEEERRRRR!!!!!!!


Ed Ford


The Repentless Killogy is out now on Nuclear Blast.


 Track List

01. Delusions of Saviour
02. Repentless
03. The Antichrist
04. Disciple
05. Postmortem
06. Hate Worldwide
07. War Ensemble
08. When The Stillness Comes
09. You Against You
10. Mandatory Suicide
11. Hallowed Point
12. Dead Skin Mask
13. Born of Fire
14. Cast the First Stone
15. Bloodline
16. Seasons in the Abyss
17. Hell Awaits
18. South of Heaven
19. Raining Blood
20. Chemical Warfare
21. Angel of Death



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: