Slaughter To Prevail // Kostolom // Album Review


Since the debut EP Chapters Of Misery dropped in 2016, Slaughter To Prevail have amassed a cult following that the debut full length Misery Sermon only increased.

Now the masked Russian Deathcore monsters are back, to build in the foundation of the newest single ‘Baba Yaga’ which has already hit over 3 million views on YouTube and over 10.6 million streams across all platforms. So, what has the mind of Alex Terrible managed go come up with now?

Its fair to say that as soon as you press play, you get cracked in the face by a huge slab of heaviness. The guitars are Technical in their nature but naturally brutal, the drums are precise and devastating and then the vocal hits and tears you head clean off your shoulders. Just when you think you’ve got this sussed, the blast beat trigger is pulled and you just end up upside down.

By the time ‘Baba Yaga’ lands, you have been turned on your head and flung around so many times that you don’t know your arse from your elbow, but this beast is only just warming up. This 12-pronged assault never lets up and takes different angles of attack so never let your guard down or allow Slaughter to Prevail to lull you into a false sense of security.

This Russian package of Deathcore is something that is not only heavy as fuck but also a whole shitload of fun and you can’t help but be blown away by both the quality but abrasive nature that Kostolom has by the shove full. Whether it be the rib cracking bass drops, skull rattling breakdowns or bone grating vocal there is nothing but extreme fun to be had with this album.

There is no way that Slaughter To Prevail should be seen as a cult style band nor should the mask be seen as novelty wear. The whole package is perfectly formed and pushes Deathcore to new levels. What the band have produced is nothing short of fantastic and really pushes them to the forefront of the genre. Iv not had so much fun whilst listening to Deathcore for such a very long time.

Kostolom really needs to turned up allowed to smash your skull into smitherines.

Ed Ford


Kostolom will be released Friday 13th August 2021 via Sumerian Records.

Track list

  1. Bonebraker
  2. Demolisher
  3. Baba Yaga
  4. Made In Russia
  5. Zavali Ebalo
  6. Agony
  7. Your Only
  8. I Killed A Man
  9. Bratva
  10. Ouroboros
  11. Head On A Plate
  12. Father




Slaughter To Prevail // Kostolom // Album Review
%d bloggers like this: