Sarke // Allsighr // Album Review


Formed in 2008, Sarke has blended 70’s Rock, 80’s Speed Metal and 90’s Black Metal with grooves and doom and now the Norwegian Extreme Metal are back with their 7th full-length album. Oh and on the vocal is the one and only Nocturno Culto from Darkthrone.

The groove riffs start immediately as the drums crash all around you, creating a special atmosphere, before the vocal growls across the scene. The inclusion of the keys adds a heavy dose of harmony and grandeur. The solid riffs don’t stop coming and the unusual blend of influences and instruments provides a constantly evolving soundscape that is laced with extreme heaviness and a whole heap of fun.

There are some very left-field sounds that make this unique sound as the chugging guitars and drums lay the dark base that the psychedelic doom builds upon. One minute you are on a frozen wasteland and the next you have technicolour peripheral on the proceedings.

As the 10 tracks progress the range of sounds increase yet the extreme remains constant. Whether you’re toe-tapping to the groove or seeing in greyscale with the Black Metal one thing that you will be doing is having a lot of fun. There really is something for everyone as this genre-blending offering has something for everyone. Even if you have never delved into the Black metal side of things, this is a great introduction whilst being a cracking album in its own right.

The 41-minute album flies by as the blistering solos carry you on a wave of wonder whilst the drums hammer your cochlear and the vocal grates at your eyes. You can’t help but press play over and over again whilst also checking to see if you can turn it up any louder.

Allsighr is a fantastic addition to any collection of Black Metal or Doom Metal, whilst I firmly believe that this is one of those releases that transverses traditional genres and fans of anything that leans toward the dark or extreme side of metal should jump on this.

Sarke have created something that is unique and brilliant and I urge you to give this a spin as you will end up repeatedly playing and looking for all the additional and unusual additions.

Ed Ford


Allsighr will be released Friday 5th November 2021 via Soulseller Records.


Allsighr was recorded by Børge Finstad and Kevin Kleiven at Top Room Studios, mixed by Lars Erik Westby at H-10 productions and mastered by Thomas Eberger at Stockholm Mastering. The artwork was created by Kjell Åge Meland.









Track Listing:

1. Bleak Reflections
2. Grim Awakening
3. Funeral Fire
4. Allsighr
5. Beheading Of The Circus Director
6. Through The Thorns
7. Glacial Casket
8. Sleep In Fear
9. The Reverberation of The Lost
10. Imprisoned


Nocturno Culto – Vocals
Sarke – Bass
Steinar Gundersen – Guitar
Anders Hunstad – Keyboards
Cato Bekkevold – Drums

Sarke // Allsighr // Album Review
%d bloggers like this: