In 2014, Montreal’s vibrant and collaborative metal scene gave rise to a new progressive death metal duo called Samskaras. The band was founded by multi-instrumentalist Eric Burnet who honed his skills in the now-defunct tech-death outfit Derelict. Burnet rounded out Samskaras’ lineup by enlisting drummer Alexandre Dupras of Teramobil and Unhuman fame. The project started off small, releasing two standalone singles before kicking into high gear with the 2017 release of their highly praised four-song effort, Asunder.

Now only one year after the release of Asunder, Samskaras recently announced Lithification, a new four-song EP set for release on Friday, October 26th. Samskaras – Lithification will strongly appeal to fans of fellow Québécois artists such as Gorguts, Neuraxis, Quo Vadis, Cryptopsy, and Despised Icon. Inspiration is drawn from other far-flung corners of the extreme music spectrum as well, with bands such as Anaal Nathrakh, Converge, Wood Of Ypres, Cattle Decapitation, and Enslaved casting shadows on the compositions.

*You can check out Samskaras – “Alignment” HERE

*You can also listen to single #1, Samskaras – “As Warriors” HERE

No Clean Singing comments on the premiere of Samskaras – “Alignment”
“The song we have for you today, “Alignment“, is vicious and bleak at its core, and a thoroughly spine-tingling experience. Warped chiming reverberations introduce the track over a heavyweight rhythm line, but it’s not long before the song surges ahead through a mix of galloping, jolting, and blasting drum discharges, combined with an array of pulsating, braying, and blizzard-like chords, and brutally harsh growls.

Imperious fanfares burst from the song, along with flickering arpeggios indicative of derangement, and quasi-clean vocals that match the intensity of the music (bringing to mind the surprising vocal contrasts provided by Dave Hunt in the music of Anaal Nathrakh).”

Samskaras – Lithification Pre-order Information
The band prefers to release their efforts as Name-Your-Price via Bandcamp and BC does not allow pre-orders for strictly NYP products.

Samskaras – Lithification Track Listing
1. Reconciliation
2. As Warriors
3. Alignment
4. À Deux Mains

Samskaras is:
Eric Burnet – Vocals, Guitar, Bass (Unburnt, Derelict)
Alexandre Dupras – Drums (Teramobil, Unhuman)

Social Media Links

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: