Following their recent sold–out Roundhouse show, and with their new album, METTAVOLUTION, 

Released to much critical acclaim, RODRIGO Y GABRIELA have announced an extensive UK tour for autumn this year. Additionally, the band have shared a visually arresting video to the album’s title track, of which they say: “It was wonderful to work with director George Mays on this video and, once again, we worked with visual designer Joshua Pierce who also designed the Mettavolutionalbum cover. His ethereal landscapes bring a sense of otherworldly nature to the video. With this video, we were trying to balance the energy of the track with a meditative calm where we are at one with our surroundings”. Watch the video here:



Rodrigo y Gabriela are soon to embark on a huge tour of the USA with dates running throughout the summer, before returning to the UK for the following live dates:




Sun            22            LIVERPOOL                        O2 Academy

Tue            24            BATH                                    Forum

Wed            25            GATESHEAD                        Sage

Thu            26            GLASGOW                        O2 Academy

Sat            28            LEEDS                                    O2 Academy

Sun            29            MANCHESTER                        Albert Hall

Mon            30            BIRMINGHAM                        O2 Academy




Fri            04            LONDON                        Eventim Apollo


Critical acclaim for METTAVOLUTION:


“…Mettavolution will undoubtedly intensify the love that this Mexican duo already inspire; the pair continue to impress with their ability to shift through a variety of Latin, folk and rock styles without ever taking the easy routes …” UNCUT 7/10


“…Their most ambitious set to date, featuring some of the most bravura psychedelic guitar playing you’re ever likely to hear…” SONGLINES ****


“…The Mexican guitar duo return at full pelt, the first half of their fifth studio album racing by, a blur of nimble fingers and frills…” MOJO


“…With a relentless and thought-out counterpoint of rhythm and melody that renders percussion and vocals unnecessary, Rodrigo and Gabriela’s signature acoustic sound, grounded on heavy metal influences, is virtuoso rock n roll…” BILLBOARD


“…Their most ambitious yet; noisy, funk–fueled slices of acoustic thrash-metal, Rodrigo essaying lightning guitar lines over Gabriela’s rhythmic strum and thrum…” HIFI CHOICE ****


“…Founded on ‘a selfless understanding of reality’, and armed with their acoustic guitars, the vivacious pair reconfigure the tones of global fractiousness through charged instrumentation tempered with stirring chords on this commanding record…” IRISH TIMES



Following their live performance [] on the Jimmy Kimmel show, Rodrigo y Gabriela also performed on a number of UK TV shows including Andrew Marr, Sunday Brunch and The One Show.


Three years in the making, Mettavolution brings together Rod’s and Gab’s passionate interest in Buddhism, the history of human evolution and the liberation of the potential we have as a species; all expressed through the medium of two acoustic guitars. Conceived and composed in their studio in Ixtapa on the Mexican Pacific Coast, then road-tested in South America and the USA in 2017, before more fine tuning and further tweaks on their Australian tour of 2018, a long list of new material was distilled down to six new Rodrigo y Gabriela compositions and one audacious, jaw-dropping cover version.



Deep-rooted fans who discovered Rod and Gab through their 2006 self-titled breakout album have long recognised the Mexicans’ mastery of their instruments. Rodrigo’s shimmering, hummingbird flourishes hovering over Gabriela’s extraordinary engine room rhythm section are present and correct on Mettavolution, but what sets this new record apart is the laser-guided focus on melody, energy and beat. There is not an ounce of excess baggage on the fresh, dynamic tunes they present here.

Through relentless touring and terrific word-of-mouth support, Rodrigo y Gabriela have established themselves as a hugely in-demand live act, particularly in America, where they sold out the Hollywood Bowl (two nights) and the Red Rocks Amphitheatre as recently as summer 2018. They have also sold out multiple nights at the Royal Albert Hall in London, Le Zenith in Paris and Radio City Music Hall in New York, not to mention venues in Australia, Japan and Europe. With worldwide career album sales in excess of 1.5 million, Rodrigo y Gabriela have established themselves as globally successful artists who continue to write new chapters in their already illustrious story.

METTAVOLUTION is out now on Rubyworks / BMG and is available to purchase here.




Mettavolution Track list:


  • Mettavolution
  • Terracentric
  • Cumbe
  • Electric Soul
  • Krotona Days
  • Witness Tree
  • Echoes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: