***Potent New 5-Track ‘Age Of Defiance’ EP Unleashed November 29th On Steamhammer / SPV***

Cutting-edge US crossover metal power trio Prong have confirmed the release of a new EP, ‘Age Of Defiance’, featuring two brand new studio recordings and three live cuts, on Steamhammer / SPV on November 29th as a Digipak CD, 12” orange-with-black-swirls vinyl with printed inner sleeves EP, download and stream.

‘Age Of Defiance’ sees Prong bridge the gap between the release of two regular studio albums. Since the launch of 2017’s much lauded ‘Zero Days’ LP, the group have toured ceaselessly round the world, so the arrival of a successor is unlikely before the end of 2020. Guitarist, vocalist and band founder Tommy Victor states that “We’ve squeezed in the EP so our fans don’t have to wait so long for the new material. Having brought out so many albums, I opted for an EP – on the one hand because the two studio numbers absolutely deserve it, and on the other hand because you can keep the energy level really high if you focus on two tracks. I think you can feel the band’s spirited performance in every note.”

Victor describes EP-opener / title song ‘Age Of Defiance’, as “pretty unusual for Prong; it’s extremely powerful, with a great groove, haunting chorus, everything’s fresh and contemporary.” The second new studio composition, ‘End Of Sanity’ is meanwhile, “a thrash/hardcore/crossover number in typical Prong style which I wrote especially for our American tour with Agnostic Front. If you’re into Prong, you’ll love this track”.

The three live tracks included on Age Of Defiance’, (which were recorded during the band’s major headlining tour at Berlin club Huxleys Neue Welt in April 2015), are ‘Another Worldly Device’ and ‘Cut Rate’ from the 1994’s ‘Cleansing’ album, plus ‘Rude Awakening’, the title track of the band’s 1996 LP. The five songs contained on ‘Age Of Defiance’ forge an arc between past, present and future.

‘Age Of Defiance’ was co-produced by Tommy Victor and Chris Collier (Korn, Lynch Mob, Ultraphonix), who also mixed and mastered the EP; “Chris is a wonderful sound engineer who understands my ideas immediately and knows how to implement them. We’ve worked together for years, Chris also collaborated with us on ‘Ruining Lives’ (2014), ‘Songs From The Black Hole’ (2015), ‘X-No Absolutes’ (2016) and ‘Zero Days’ (2017).”

Enthusing about bassist Jason Christopher and drummer Aaron Rossi, who complete the current Prong line-up, Victor states that “Aaron is a real powerhouse drummer and provides the band’s rhythm foundation. He already appeared on ‘Power Of The Damager’ in 2007 and rejoined us last year. Jason has been with us for eight years; he’s the best bassist I’ve ever played with since the sadly deceased Paul Raven, and an amazing performer on stage.” So, in other words, all is well with Prong? “Totally,” grins Tommy Victor, “This band is more than ever an important part of my spiritual life. I don’t persist with it for the fame and glory, but out of gratitude and modesty because God has given me this gift.”

1. Age Of Defiance 03.13
2. End Of Sanity 03.07
3. Rude Awakening (live) 04.08
4. Another Worldly Device (live) 03.31
5. Cut Rate (live) 05.24

Tommy Victor – guitar, vocals
Jason Christopher– bass
Aaron Rossi – drums

Live 2019:
10.10. US-Flagstaff,AZ – Orpheum Theater
11.10. US-Tucson,AZ – Nifty After Fifty by Encore Wellness
24.10. US-San Francisco,CA – Rickshaw Stop
25.10. US-Los Angeles,CA – The Roxy Theatre
26.10. US-San Diego,CA – Soda Bar
27.10. US-Garden Grove,CA – Garden Amp


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: