Prog Band Shumaun Release Second Single “Under the Sun” ft. Leo Margarit (Pain of Salvation)

Prog Band Shumaun Release Second Single “Under the Sun” ft. Leo Margarit (Pain of Salvation)

New Album “Memories & Intuition” Out September 10th

Featuring An All-Star Lineup of Drummers

Ft. Thomas Lang (Peter Gabriel, Paul Gilbert),
Atma Anur (Jason Becker, Tony Macalpine),
Mark Zonder (Fates Warning, Warlord),
Leo Margarit (Pain of Salvation), and Chris DeChiara

Shumaun (L to R) Jose Mora: Bass, Farhad Hossain: Vocals, Guitar, Keys, Tyler Kim: Guitar

Shumaun is a progressive metal band from Virgina, USA. This September they will be releasing a third album “Memories & Intuition”, from which they are now showcasing the second single, “Under the Sun” ft. Pain of Salvation drummer Leo Margarit, with a captivating lyric video.

“The opening guitar chords were very much inspired by the guitar work of Robin Guthrie of Cocteau Twins,” says Farhad Hossain. It is also good to note that unlike their previous album “Memories & Intuition” is not a concept album, but more thematically driven. The band explains the track further:

“Several aspects of the song are almost experimental. The backing vocals are not just doing harmonies, but they add another dimension to the lead vocals.” adds Tyler Kim.

“The music paints a dark mood, and the vocal melody is hauntingly beautiful and catchy. I love the breaks before the choruses. The ‘Shumaunic’ signature makes its way into the choruses since they’re in 7/4 time, yet doesn’t sound odd because of the groove. One of my favorites on the album for sure,” Jose Mora elaborates.

On this album, Shumaun wants the listener to be able to feel a connection to the melodies and lyrics. Expecting that everyone’s listening experience will be different, they just want the honesty and integrity of the music to resonate with the listener in whatever shape or form that may be. The band provides an accessible approach to modern progressive rock, with ambitious melodies and catchy harmonies.

Alongside the regular band lineup, on this album, Shumaun employs the talents of legendary drummers Thomas Lang (Peter Gabriel, Paul Gilbert), Atma Anur (Jason Becker, Tony Macalpine), and Mark Zonder (Fates Warning, Warlord). Drummers Leo Margarit (Pain of Salvation) and Chris DeChiara also contributed.

Shumaun’s brand of progressive rock is recommended for fans of Dream Theater, Porcupine Tree, and Fates Warning.

“Under the Sun” can be heard via its premiere on MetalInjection HERE.

“Memories & Intuition” is releasing on September 10, 2021.

Album teaser –

First single “Memories of Water” –

Track Listing:
1. A Subtle Invocation (3:20)
2. Prisoners (3:51)
3. Memories of Water (3:33)
4. Jabriel’s Song (5:59)
5. Invincible (7:22)
6. Under the Sun (5:06)
7. The Pursuit of Happiness (5:11)
8. Tides (4:28)
9. Intuition Underground (4:39)
10. Breathing Light (9:00)
11. A Planetary Shift (5:40)
12. The Day We Said Goodbye (5:18)
Album Length: 1:03:26

Album Band Line Up:
Farhad Hossain – Vocals, Guitars, Keyboards
Jose Mora – Bass
Tyler Kim – Guitars
Drums: Thomas Lang (Tracks 2, 5, 9, 10)
Drums: Mark Zonder (Tracks 1, 3)
Drums: Atma Anur (Tracks 4, 7)
Drums: Leo Margarit (Tracks 6, 8)
Drums: Chris DeChiara (Track 11)
Additional keyboards on “Tides” by Bill Whitney

%d bloggers like this: