Parrilla // Femme Fatale // EP Review


This four piece from Southend on Sea have been creating a bit of stir and now they are about to release the first part in their Femme Fatale trilogy, titled Ensnared by Venus and believe that this collection of six tracks will pave the way for the remaining EPs.

If you don’t know what to expect from Parilla, then you are going to hear the results of smashing genres together with zero preconceptions around how it will come out.

The EP opens with ‘Law of Texas’ a track that slams sonic walls into your face before heavily distorted guitars and then an industrial feel joins the mix. The vocal begins cleanly and then begins to twist a little more aggressive.

You can hear some serious Depeche Mode influences from the off and that’s by no means a bad thing.

‘Bleed, Cry, Pray, Die’ continues the theme and leans more heavily on the guitars whilst adding in some haunting to the vocal and an extra blend of a catchy beat.

 By the time you reach ‘Mannequin Complex’ you will be fully submerged in the Parrilla world and you will find yourself singing along with the words and wanting to be Mannequin.

The final track ‘Femme Fatale’ closes this first part of the trilogy in wonderful style and leaves you begging for more and you will reach for the play button again as we wait for the second instalment of Femme Fatale.

If I was to call this Industrial, Heavy Metal, Power Metal or any other sub genre then this would be a great disservice and in all honesty, what Parrilla create is a mashup of all the above and more.

The power that is packed into album is impressive and the melodies are soothing. The abrasive nature of the overall sound will grate the skin from muscle. The drums create differing beats and sounds that the rest of the sound is built upon and the music follows perfectly. 

Ensnared by Venus is a fresh and exciting EP that you will hear something different on each listen, keeping it fresh, it’s longevity is impressive and overall this is a lot of fun.

Ed Ford


Femme Fatale: Ensnared by Venus will be released Friday 30th July 2021 independently.


Track list

  1. Law of Texas
  2. Bleed, Cry, Pray, Die
  3. Show Me
  4. Mannequin Complex
  5. Desire
  6. Femme Fatale





Parrilla // Femme Fatale // EP Review
%d bloggers like this: