Palaye Royale // The Bastards // Album Review

Palaye Royale the highly rated Juno nominated band drop their even more highly anticipated third studio album this week, The Bastards will no doubt raise the profile of this visually stunning band. 

The new album allows the band to work through their angst and issues covering a lot of personal and sensitive topics such as childhood abandonment, mental health issues, and drug use. This allows for some dark, expressive and emotive music to flow across the fourteen track album.

You are immediately thrust into their chaotic and dystopian world with tracks like ‘Massacre, The New American Dream’ with its thrashing guitars and electronica backbone all create a cinematic soundscape for you to wrap yourself up in this chaotic beauty. Each track is a beautiful multi-layered expansive experience that just grips you, you can’t help but be in awe at the intricate details you pick up throughout the recording. Palaye Royale has forged a reputation as a live band, and one of the live bands to see. Their recent UK tour was a testament to that taking to the streets to play when venues feared for safety due to the band’s antics, old-school Rock ’N’ Roll in the 20th century lives on. You get that sent from the album, each of these tracks will translate live really well, and becoming these pummelling giants live, thrashing guitars, wailing vocals and glorious hooks will ensure the room will be bouncing when we get back to the beauty of live performances once again! Tracks like ‘Fucking With My Head’ will ensure that. 

Surrounded by a utopian world created by the band, The Bastards is set in a place that is a reflection of their own lives, but in a mythological sense. Speaking on this special world he and his brothers have created, Emerson Barrett adds “It takes place around the island of Obsidian and it’s set in 1888. In short, it’s a world that started off with intentions where the island encouraged free thinkers and artists to exist, and, as everything does in life, eventually it becomes this political power and evil toxicity that comes with everything. To remain a true individual in the society, you must wear a gas mask.” Speaking on the recording of The Bastards, Sebastian Danzig states “We rented an Airbnb in Joshua Tree, one in London, and we kept on going in little areas and writing new sections of the album. It’s crazy — we thought the album was done in March of last year, and we did the heavy stuff in Joshua Tree. We wrote ‘Little Bastards’ a week before the album was supposed to be mixed and mastered.” Speaking on the band’s refreshingly honest and open approach to writing on the new album, Remington adds “We need a little honesty and a little truth. The world is getting so tainted by everyone trying to be so fucking perfect and so goddamn PG and trying to walk this line of not trying to offend anyone. People need to be themselves, just for 20 minutes at least.”

A stunning by a band who always play on the edge, who challenge the listener throughout and who are brave enough to toss convention out the window and go their own way, The Bastards is a  statement of intent of what is yet to come from Palaye Royal and we should all celebrate that. From start to finish this is an absolute beauty. 

The Bastards is released on May 29th via Sumerian Records. 



Track Listing

01 Little Bastards

02 Massacre, The New American Dream

03 Anxiety

04 Tonight Is The Night I Die

05 Lonely

06 Hang On To Yourself

07 Fucking With My Head

08 Nervous Breakdown

09 Nightmares

10 Masochist

11 Doom (Empty)

12 Black Sheep

13 Stay

14 Redeemer

15 Lord Of Lies (Bonus track)


Palaye Royale are

Remington Leith – Vocals

Sebastian Danzig – Guitar

Emerson Barrett – Drums

Daniel Curcio – Bass

Andrew Martin – Guitar


%d bloggers like this: