Pain of Salvation – New album “PANTHER” out now / Lyric-video for “UNFUTURE” launched!

Sweden’s Pain of Salvation have now released their new studio album “PANTHER” worldwide via InsideOutMusic.

Pain of Salvation’s Daniel Gildenlöw checked in with the following message for the band’s supporters about the new release:

“This album is for you, or someone you know. It is for the restless, the shy, the motormouths, the passionate, the ones who go far beyond the point of reason for what you believe in, the outsiders, the diagnosed, the medicated, the hungry, the sad, the ones walking around daily trying to understand how to fit in with this species, with this era. It’s for everyone who always had problems sitting still in the class room, or who never really knew how to speak up. The daydreamers, the relentlessly curious, the comedians, the unexplainably angry. This is your album. Because you, my friend, are a panther. And you are a valued member of the Full Throttle Tribe. Ladies and gentlemen, rev your engines, the world is about to get panthered! 🙂 #areyouapanther ”

In order to further support the album’s release, the Progressive Metal/Rock innovators are now also launching a lyric-video created by Thomas Hicks for the song “UNFUTURE”, which can be seen here:

Daniel Gildenlöw commented about “UNFUTURE” as follows:

This is probably the most typical Pain of Salvation song of the album, and if you’re nervous about the new and unknown, this might be a good track to hold your hand as you venture deeper into the album, or as the PANTHER sinks its teeth deeper into you. 

It is a dystopian and lead heavy track in the vein of Black Hills, Diffidentia and The Taming of a Beast.

Welcome to the new world

All want, no need

See, the less your heart is in it

The less you’ll bleed

How free are you? Honestly. Right now, where are the limits of your cultural freedom? Where will your social context draw the line? In this modern age, flattering itself with being tolerant, the concept of normality is, ironically, narrowing down every year. And when you’ve adapted everything you want and own to fit these norms, the only thing left to change, is yourself. 

Now we only need a new you

And you’ll feel fine

Make sure to also check out these videos for Pain of Salvation’s “PANTHER” album:
“RESTLESS BOY” Drum Playthrough:
“PANTHER” Album Trailer:

“PANTHER”, the follow-up release to 2017’s “In The Passing Light Of Day” album, was recorded, mixed and produced by Daniel Gildenlöw with Daniel Bergstrand (In Flames, Meshuggah, Devin Townsend) and comes with a comprehensive artwork-theme with illustrations made by André Meister.

Pain of Salvation – “PANTHER” (55:33):

  1. ACCELERATOR (05:31)
    2. UNFUTURE (06:46)
    3. RESTLESS BOY (03:34)
    4. WAIT (07:04)
    5. KEEN TO A FAULT (06:01)
    6. FUR (01:34)
    7. PANTHER (04:11)
    8. SPECIES (05:18)
    9. ICON (13:30)

Next to the standard CD and the Digital Album formats, ”PANTHER” is also available as limited 2CD Mediabook (Including expanded artwork and the following 4 bonus tracks on a separate disc (15:41): “PANTHER (demo)” (04:09), “KEEN TO A FAULT (demo)” (05:31), “FIFI GRUFFI” (03:32) and “UNFOREVER” (02:27)) and as 180g. Gatefold 2LP (Including the 4 bonus tracks on Side D and album on CD as bonus), in the following variations:

Black vinyl – Unlimited

Deep blood red vinyl – 100x copies from IOM Webshop Europe (Sold out!)
Transparent blue vinyl – 300x copies from CM Distro
Transparent green vinyl – 200x copies from EMP

Lilac vinyl – 200x copies from JPC

White vinyl – 200x copies from Pain of Salvation (Sold out!)

Transparent yellow vinyl – 100x copies from Pain of Salvation (Sold out!)

Order “PANTHER” in its various formats here:

Look out for more news about Pain of Salvation and “PANTHER” soon…


Pain of Salvation line-up:
Daniel Gildenlöw – lead vocals and lots of stuff

Johan Hallgren – guitar and vocals

Léo Margarit – drums and vocals

Daniel Karlsson – keyboards, guitars and vocals

Pain of Salvation discography:

Entropia –1997

One Hour by the Concrete Lake – 1998

The Perfect Element, Part I – 2000

Remedy Lane – 2002

12:5 – 2004

BE – 2004

BE DVD – 2005

Scarsick – 2007

Ending Themes DVD – 2009

Linoleum EP – 2009

Road Salt One – 2010

Road Salt Two – 2011

Falling Home – 2014

Remedy Lane Re:visited (Re:mixed & Re:lived) – 2016

In the Passing Light of Day – 2017

PANTHER – 2020

Pain of Salvation online:

InsideOutMusic online:

Visit the InsideOut Shop:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: