OUT TODAY – Orchids release single ‘Memoria’ from one-off, female focused album

Orchids are a unique project that brings together some of the finest musicians, producers, engineers, mix and mastering engineers in Northern Ireland to create an album that stands alone as a creative endeavour. Following the dissolution of a previous project songwriter and guitarist Michael Smyth was left with 9 recorded songs, featuring Emma Rose on bass and Matthew Milner on drums, but in need of vocals. Unwilling to let these songs wither and die on the vine, Michael sought a solution that would give the songs the audience they deserved and a way to breathe new life into them. Written with a female vocal in mind, Michael made the decision to reach out to a number of female vocalists from Northern Ireland, inviting them to lend their considerable talents to and feature on a number of different tracks.

Memoria’ is the first track to be released from the forthcoming self-titled album and features Melyssa Shannon of Wynona Bleach on vocals. A driving alt rock/mid-western emo tinged track, it opens with an explosive kick snare pattern giving way to an equally driving intro riff, with the whole band hammering at their respective instruments. The verses play into the loud/quiet/loud formula with some pretty picky guitar patterns that maintain pace but leave space for Melyssa’s vocals to shine through before adding tension again with a syncopated snare drum pre-chorus. When the chorus finally breaks it feels like taking a breath before a dam breaks, a torrent of overdriven guitars, pounding bass and crashing drums tear out of the speakers at you, all awash with the emotion conveyed in Melyssa’s vocals.

Lyrically the track speaks of words falling on deaf ears of a partner feigning interest in a relationship when the truth is much the opposite.

The album was recorded with Ryan McGroarty in Start Together, mixed by Jonny Woods out of his 1980 Something Studio and mastered by Jon Moorehead at Moosetronix. The band on all tracks are Michael Smyth on guitar, Emma Rose on bass and Matthew Milner on drums.


Memoria is released on Sept 29th.

The full track listing for the self-titled album, due out November 10th is:

  1. Memoria featuring Melyssa Shannon (Wynona Bleach)
  2. Revolutions featuring Daisy Johnston
  3. Hourglass featuring Rebecca Dow (Virgins)
  4. Run featuring Rebecca Dow (Virgins)
  5. Mannequin featuring Sianna (Tramp)
  6. Do Better featuring Clodagh May
  7. Sins featuring Frances Ellen
  8. Smile featuring Melyssa Shannon (Wynona Bleach)
  9. …And Ghosts featuring Rebecca Dow (Virgins)