[ photo: Tim Tronckoe ]

A heavy happy release day to up and coming OFF THE CROSS: Today the four-piece melodic metal band hailing from Merksem, Belgium, released their brand new EP! But ‘ERA’ is not just another EP, on this special record we get four songs across four different chapters, which feature some amazing guest stars on every track such as from KATATONIA, STREAM OF PASSION and many more!
To celebrate the release of a new ‘ERA’, OFF THE CROSS have just unleashed another fiery music video for the song ‘The Mist’, featuring Tijs Vanneste from Van Echelpoel on guest vocals and some exciting behind-the-studio-footage! Check out ‘The Mist’ right HERE!

Says the band: “We are super stoked to release our new EP to the world. We really expanded our boundaries with these 4 tracks. Our new video for ‘The Mist’ takes you on a journey through the creative proces and gives you a glimpse behind the scenes of the recordings.”

After the release of their highly acclaimed debut album ‘Divided Kingdom’, it’s been about time for something new, something special. A new ‘ERA’ on the musical OFF THE CROSS journey.
Recorded, mixed and co-produced by Filip Goris and a mastering from Jens Bogren (Opeth, Arch Enemy and At The Gates) brought OFF THE CROSS and their brand new EP release to a next level.

For the band, writing music is a way of processing life. A way of expressing feelings for those who haven’t learned how to do it otherwise. The ERA EP takes the listener through four chapters in a defining era in one’s life, from self-destruction to the search for salvation. Says the band: “Musically, we felt we needed to push the boundaries, recording as much real life instruments possible and minimising midi and other simulated instruments. For a big drumsound we went to the brand-new creative residence DAFT studios in Malmedy. A big room surrounded by nature made for an ideal place to record. Guitars, bass, and vocals were recorded in our second home: The Dungeon, a cosy high-end studio in Lier, Belgium.”

The Organ is a fundamental part of the OFF THE CROSS sound which in the past was recorded digitally. As they wanted to raise the bar on this, OFF THE CROSS invited Joost Van Den Broek, known for his bands such as After Forever and Ayreon, as well as a producer of acts like Epica, Powerwolf or Vuur. Besides ripping it up on the Hammond organ Joost also recorded some beautiful piano parts on the Hermann Jacobi grand piano at the Sandlane Recording Facilities in The Netherlands.
Next to that the band was backed by a 35-headed choir, cello, saxophone, and percussion. This was recorded in the majestical Sint-Augustinus church in Antwerp, which contributed to the big sound the band achieved.



The track list of ERA reads as follows:
1. The Goddess (feat. Marcela Bovio / Stream Of Passion, Ayreon, MaYan)
2. The Silence (feat. Jonas Renkse / Katatonia, Bloodbath)
3. The Mist (feat. Tijs Vanneste / Van Echelpoel)
4. The Saviour (feat. Matthijs Vanstaen / Lighthousing)
Alongside their brand new video for ‘The Mist’, today OFF THE CROSS are celebrating the ‘ERA’ release out now as Digital Download and 10” White Vinyl, to purchase your album copy visit:

Make sure to catch OFF THE CROSS and their energetic live shows on the following upcoming dates, with many more to come:

03.11.18 BE M.A.C.C. / Deerlijk
16.11.18 BE Trix Club / Antwerpen (EP Release Show)
24.11.18 BE Troyfest – Club de B / Torhout
10.12.2018 BE Ancienne Belgique / Brussels

For More Info Visit:

Official Music Videos:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: