NIKLAS SUNDIN Shares New MITOCHONDRIAL SUN EP In Its Entirety + Exclusive Label Interview!

+ Exclusive Label Interview!


“Bodies And Gold” EP out now on Argonauta Records!


“With Mitochondrial Sun, I can just focus on writing songs without having to think about anything else.”

Niklas Sundin, best known as one of the founding members and former guitarist of Swedish metal titans Dark Tranquillity, has released a brand new EP with his ever-changing, enthralling solo-project MITOCHONDRIAL SUN.

After 15 albums as a metal guitarist, with MITOCHONDRIAL SUN Sundin started his first public forays into different musical realms in 2020. Following last year’s solo debut and the critically acclaimed successor Sju Pulsarer in early 2021, the multi-instrumentalist just shared his new EP in its entirety alongside an exclusive interview with Sundin’s label Argonauta Records!

The Bodies and Gold EP features six tracks of dystopian electronic music in a wide variety of moods and is out now on all digital platforms. The already sold-out limited edition vinyl version is (as those who pre-ordered it already know) somewhat delayed due to the supply chain problems that the whole vinyl pressing industry are currently experiencing. Read the exclusive label chat and stream MITOCHONDRIAL SUN‘s new EP at THIS LOCATION!

MITOCHONDRIAL SUN’s core of the music is an electronic and instrumental affair, that ranges from quiet meditations on space and time to relentless cosmic storms; from a sonic journey into fast, urgent and chaotic songs of the bleakest black metal sound, yet MITOCHONDRIAL SUN is full of emotionally charged melodies and atmospheric soundscapes lurking beneath the surface. Falling somewhere in between the contemplative and moody debut album and the intense Sju Pulsarer, each song on this brand new EP – from the cinematic and slow moving opener to the industrial full-throttle closing track – differs a lot from each other in style, but share the same vibe: Dystopian and cold, yet organic and occasionally hopeful. To purchase your Digital copy of the Bodies and Gold EP, visit MITOCHONDRIAL SUN‘s Bandcamp HERE!

EP Tracklist:
1. Sic Transit Anima Mundi

2. Bodies and Gold
3. Ghost of Tradition
4. Beams of Light through Glass
5. Rigel Illuminated
6. Velocities

For More Info Visit:

%d bloggers like this: