Nico Vega drop a Donald Trump “Cease and Desist” Playlist

Nico Vega drop a Donald Trump “Cease and Desist” Playlist

Including The Rolling Stones, The Beatles, Bruce Springsteen, Elton John, Adele, Pharrell Williams, Queen and Rhianna and Nico Vega’s ‘Beast’

Playlist Features All Songs Used Without Bands Permission by President Trump

Cease and Desist Playlist Link – 

December 23rd 2020 – Los Angeles; In response to President Donald Trump using Nico Vega’s track “Beast” in a recent video entitled ‘Fight For Trump’, Nico Vega have today dropped a “Cease and Desist” playlist on Spotify, to highlight all the bands that have had their music used without permission by the 45th President of the United States, bands that have requested that the President Cease and Desist using their songs at rallies or for campaign and fund raising purposes.

The ‘Cease and Desist’ playlist contains 33 tracks from bands as varied as The Rolling Stones, The Beatles, Bruce Springsteen, Elton John, Adele, Pharrell Williams, Queen, Rhianna, REM and many more. 

On the 19th December President Trump posted a tweet containing a video entitled “FIGHT FOR TRUMP”, ‘Beast’ by Nico Vega was used as the sound bed, which has since been liked 282,000 times, retweeted 98,900 times and commented on over 63,000 times.

The video and tweet are still active on President Trump’s @realdonaldtrump Twitter page, 4 days after the Nico Vega released their statement saying they did not want their music used for political agendas.

Aja Volkman-Reynolds and Dan Epand of Nico Vega issued this statement:-

“To be clear, we do not support the use of our song ‘Beast’ in the recent Trump video. We have love and empathy for people of all backgrounds, races, and beliefs, and we feel sick how ALL Americans’ fears and vulnerabilities have been exploited over the last four years and more We will not participate in a form of propaganda that pits Americans against one another. The meaning of this song is to love thy neighbour. To stand up for the underdog and to rise together around the commonality of LOVE. Without division!”

Volkman-Reynolds continued “It sends out a message to people that music isn’t respected or valued as craft, It hurt me that someone took our music without asking, and twisted the message to fit a political agenda. We don’t want our song to be used to manipulate anyone or to tell half of a story that might cause divisiveness. We are a small independent band with a mighty message and though this puts a target on our back, we cannot sit quietly in silence. Our song is about bringing people together. We must stand by the message of our song ‘Beast.'”


The Rolling Stones were also unhappy of the use of their music “The Rolling Stones do not endorse Donald Trump,” the band tweeted and representatives for the group said that “further steps to exclude” Mr Trump from using Rolling Stones material in future presidential campaigning was necessary after previous “cease and desist directives” had been ignored.


The Beatles have also been vocal “The unauthorized use of ‘Here Comes the Sun’ at the RNC is offensive & against the wishes of the George Harrison estate,” the estate tweeted after the Abbey Road track was broadcast. Instead, the estate offered the use of a more fitting All Things Must Pass song: “If it had been ‘Beware of Darkness,’ then we MAY have approved it!”

NICO VEGA – Cease and Desist – Playlist

Available on the bands Spotify Page 

  • Nico Vega                     – ‘Beast’
  • The Rolling Stones        – ‘You Can’t Always Get What You Want’
  • The Beatles                  – ‘Here comes the sun’
  • Neil Young                    – ‘Rockin’ In The Free World’
  • R.E.M.                          – ‘It’s the End of the World as We Know It’
  • Aerosmith                     – ‘Livin on the edge’
  • Adele                            – ‘Skyfall’
  • Elton John                    – ‘Rocketman’
  • Queen                          – ‘We Are The Champions’
  • Earth, Wind & Fire        – ‘September’
  • The O’Jays ‘                  – Love Train’
  • Twisted Sister               – ‘We’re Not Gonna Take It’
  • Pharrell Williams           – ‘Happy’
  • Adele                            – ‘Rolling in the Deep’
  • Rihanna                        – ‘Don’t Stop The Music’
  • Guns N’ Roses              – ‘Live and let Die’
  • Nickelback                    – ‘Photograph’
  • Prince                           – ‘Purple Rain’
  • REM                              – ‘Everybody Hurts’
  • Tom Petty                     – ‘I Won’t Back Down’
  • Panic! At the Disco        – ‘High Hopes’
  • Bruce Springsteen        – “Born in the U.S.A.”
  • Creedence Clearwater Revival   – “Fortunate Son”
  • Eddy Grant                   – “Electric Avenue”
  • Elton John                    – “Rocket Man”
  • REM                              – ‘Losing My Religion’
  • Leonard Cohen’s           – “Hallelujah”
  • Linkin Park’s                 – “In the End”
  • Luciano Pavarotti          – “Nessun Dorma”
  • Elton John                    – “Tiny Dancer”
  • Phil Collins                    – “In the Air Tonight”
  • Village People               – “Macho Man”
  • Village People               – “Y.M.C.A.”


BETTER NOISE MUSIC is the premiere independent music label under BETTER NOISE ENTERTAINMENT, a content creation and marketing company that produces music, books, films, documentaries, TV shows,  theatrical productions and tours.  Better Noise Music (formerly Eleven Seven Music), founded in 2006 by music industry veteran and independent pioneer Allen Kovac, focuses on artist development and has grown into a music industry independent powerhouse, with a roster including Five Finger Death Punch, AWOLNATION, Mötley Crüe, Atlas Genius, Papa Roach, Bad Wolves, Nothing More and The Hu. Partnering with FUGA, AMPED and Membran, the company operates a global marketing and distribution platform with offices in New York, Los Angeles, Nashville, London, Berlin, Toronto and Sydney.

%d bloggers like this: