Oh Yeah Legend Award Recipients 2019

Snow Patrol

Ulster Hall

7th November 2019

Snow Patrol to be honoured with ‘Legend Award’ in Belfast on November 7th.

Oh Yeah Music Centre is proud to announce Snow Patrol as recipients of the 2019 Oh Yeah Legend award. In recognition of the band’s extraordinary achievements over the last 25 years, the presentation will be made at the Northern Ireland Music Prize in the Ulster Hall on November 7th, and will include a special live performance from the band.

The Oh Yeah Legend Award was established to celebrate and recognise the exceptional contribution of a musician or act from Northern Ireland.

Snow Patrol is Gary Lightbody, Jonny Quinn, Nathan Connolly, Johnny McDaid and Paul Wilson. The story of Snow Patrol is astonishing, from struggling indie band to global success, they have sold more than 17 million albums worldwide, clocked up more than one billion streams and boast 5 UK Platinum Albums. They are a Grammy, BRIT Award and Mercury Music Prize nominated band and in 2005 ‘Final Straw’ won the Ivor Novello Album Award. In July 2019, PPL revealed that Snow Patrol’s song ‘Chasing Cars’ is the most played track of the 21st Century to date.

They are one of the biggest bands to ever come out of Northern Ireland and earlier this year as part of their 25th anniversary celebrations they made a triumphant return home for their Ward Park 3 show. It was a spectacular event and the biggest concert and showcase of local music ever to take place in Northern Ireland.

Charlotte Dryden from the Oh Yeah Music Centre said: “Snow Patrol are an award winning, global success and they are wonderful ambassadors for Northern Ireland. They have never forgotten their roots and not only have they been generous to their fans at home, but supportive and helpful to many of our emerging bands too. We are really proud of them and delighted that they have agreed to accept this award right here in Belfast and perform at the event.”

Previous recipients of the Oh Yeah Legend Award are:

Jackie Flavelle (posthumous) (2018)

Vivian Campbell (2017)

Ash (2016)

The Divine Comedy (2015)

Therapy? (2014)

Gary Moore (posthumous) (2012)

Stiff Little Fingers (2011)

The Undertones (2010)

Henry McCullough (2009)

Terri Hooley (2008)

The Oh Yeah Legend presentation will take place on the evening of the Northern Ireland Music Prize on November 7th at the Ulster Hall. The event is an annual awards celebration of our home-grown, world-class music and includes awards for best album, best single, best live act, best emerging act, outstanding contribution to music and will also include the Oh Yeah Legend Award in 2019.

The evening takes place during the annual Sound of Belfast programme, a festival that celebrates the music of the city from grassroots through to the most celebrated names. This years’ festival takes place 1st – 9th November.



About Oh Yeah

The Oh Yeah Music Centre is Belfast’s dedicated music hub. It is a resource for musicians and the business of music. The Gordon Street building houses a recording studio, rehearsal rooms, a music exhibition, nine music industry units, a song writing room and a live venue



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: